India flag Books from India

84 popular indian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from India. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

A Burning by Megha Majumdar EN

Rating: 1 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train bec... continue

2.

A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry EN

Rating: 4 (5 votes)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
"A novel set in India during the Emergency, by the author of Such a Long Journey."

3.

A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
"When Saroo Brierley used Google Earth to find his long-lost home town half a world away, he made global headlines. Saroo had become lost on a train in India at the age of five. Not knowing the name of his family or where he was from, he survived for weeks on the streets of Kolkata, before being taken into an orphanage and adopted by a couple in Australia. Despite being happy in his new family, Saroo always wondered about his origins. He spent hours staring at the map of India on his bedroom wall. When he was a young man the advent of Google Earth led him to pour over satellite images of the c... continue

4.

A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
Vikram Seth's novel is, at its core, a love story: Lata and her mother, Mrs. Rupa Mehra, are both trying to find -- through love or through exacting maternal appraisal -- a suitable boy for Lata to marry. Set in the early 1950s, in an India newly independent and struggling through a time of crisis, A Suitable Boy takes us into the richly imagined world of four large extended families and spins a compulsively readable tale of their lives and loves. A sweeping panoramic portrait of a complex, multiethnic society in flux, A Suitable Boy remains the story of ordinary people caught up in a web of l... continue

5.

Age of Vice : A Novel by Deepti Kapoor EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK This is the age of vice, when money, pleasure and power are everything, and the family ties that bind can also kill New Delhi, 3 a.m. A speeding Mercedes jumps the curb and in the blink of an eye, five people are dead. It’s a rich man’s car, but when the dust settles there is no rich man at all, just a shell-shocked servant who can’t explain the strange series of events that led to this crime, or foresee the dark drama that is about to unfold. Deftly shifting through time and perspective in contemporary India, Age of Vi... continue

6.

An Equal Music by Vikram Seth EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
The author of the international bestseller A Suitable Boy returns with a powerful and deeply romantic tale of two gifted musicians. Michael Holme is a violinist, a member of the successful Maggiore Quartet. He has long been haunted, though, by memories of the pianist he loved and left ten years earlier, Julia McNicholl. Now Julia, married and the mother of a small child, unexpectedly reenters his life and the romance flares up once more. Against the magical backdrop of Venice and Vienna, the two lovers confront the truth about themselves and their love, about the music that both unites and div... continue


8.

Baumgartner's Bombay by Anita Desai EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
A German Jew flees Germany to live in India. After a relatively successful business career, her retires to a rather impoverished life in the company of a pack of stray cats.

9.

Between the Assassinations by Aravind Adiga EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
Welcome to Kittur, India. Of its 193,432 residents, only 89 declare themselves to be without religion or caste. And if the characters in "Between the Assassinations" are any indication, Kittur is an extraordinary crossroads between the brightest minds and the poorest morals, the up-and-coming and the downtrodden, and the poets and the prophets of an India that modern literature has rarely addressed. A series of sketches that together form a blinding, brilliant, and brave mosaic of Indian life as it is lived in a place called Kittur, "Between the Assassinations," with all the humor, sympathy, a... continue

10.

Bhagavad Gita by Unknown EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
In the Bhagavad Gita, Prince Arjuna asks direct, uncompromising questions of his spiritual guide on the eve of a great battle. In this expanded edition of the most famous —and popular — of Indian criptures, Eknath Easwaran contextualizes the book culturally and historically and explains the key concepts of Hindu religious thought and the technical vocabulary of yoga. Chapter introductions, notes, and a glossary help readers understand the book’s message. Most importantly, this translation uses simple, clear language to impart the poetry, universality, and timelessness of the Gita’s teachings.... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM INDIA BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Children's literature Contemporary fiction Crime Cultural Domestic fiction Dystopia Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Magical realism Memoir Mystery Mythology Philosophical Poetry Political Psychology Religious Romance Satire Science Short story Spirituality Thriller Travel Young Adult