Thailand flag Books from Thailand

6 popular thai books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from Thailand. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

Bangkok Wakes to Rain : A Novel by Pitchaya Sudbanthad EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Thailand flag Thailand
Description:
"A house in the center of Bangkok becomes the point of confluence where lives are shaped by upheaval, memory, and the lure of home. Witness to two centuries' flux in one of the world's most restless cities, a house plays host to longings and losses past, present, and future. A nineteenth-century missionary doctor pines for the comforts of New England even as he finds the vibrant foreign chaos of Siam increasingly difficult to resist. A post-war society woman marries, mothers, and holds court, little suspecting the course of her future. A jazz pianist is summoned in the 1970s to conjure music t... continue


3.

Bright by Duanwad Pimwana EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Thailand flag Thailand
Description:
"Explores the quality of human resilience through the adventures of Kampol Changsamran, a young boy left behind by his parents after their break-up"--

4.

The Blind Earthworm in the Labyrinth by Wīraphō̜n Nitipraphā EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Thailand flag Thailand
Description:
On the day Chareeya is born, her mother discovers her father having an affair with a traditional Thai dancer. From then on, Chareeya's life is fated to carry the weight of her parents' disappointments. She and her sister grow up in a lush riverside town near the Thai capital, Bangkok, captivated by trashy romance novels, classical music and games of make-believe. When the laconic orphan, Pran, enters their world, he unwittingly lures the sisters into a labyrinth of their own making as they each try to escape their intertwined fates. The original Thai language edition of The Blind Earthworm in ... continue

5.

The Moon Represents My Heart by Pim Wangtechawat EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Thailand flag Thailand
Description:
Soon to be a major Netflix series, The Moon Represents My Heart is a lush, hopeful novel, for fans of The Immortalists and Everything I Never Told You, that follows a Chinese-British family of time travelers as they seek connections over borders--both national borders and those created by time. A love lost in time. An eternity to find it. The Wang family is hiding a secret--they all have the ability to time travel. When parents Joshua and Lily depart for the past and never return, their children Tommy and Eva are forced to deal with their grief alone. Eva tries to find her place in the present... continue

6.

The Sad Part was by Prāpdā Yun EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Thailand flag Thailand
Description:
Winner of a PEN Translates! grant. Selected as a 'book to look out for in 2017' by The Guardian and BuzzFeed Books. In these witty, postmodern stories, Yoon riffs on pop culture, experiments with punctuation, flirts with sci-fi and, in a metafictional twist, mocks his own position as omnipotent author. Highly literary, his narratives offer an oblique reflection of contemporary Bangkok life, exploring the bewildering disjunct and oft-hilarious contradictions of a modernity that is at odds with many traditional Thai ideas on relationships, family, school and work. Praise for The Sad Part Was 'Ev... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM THAILAND BY GENRE

Adult Historical Romance Short story