Science fiction genre books (38)


1.

Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi EN

Rating: 4     21 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
*OVER ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD* *NOW AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER* If you could go back, who would you want to meet? In a small back alley of Tokyo, there is a café that has been serving carefully brewed coffee for more than one hundred years. Local legend says that this shop offers something else besides coffee—the chance to travel back in time. Over the course of one summer, four customers visit the café in the hopes of making that journey. But time travel isn’t so simple, and there are rules that must be followed. Most important, the trip can last only as long as it takes for the coffee to ge... continue
Recommended: 26 Sep 2019

2.

Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James EN

Rating: 3     20 Votes
Description:
One of TIME’s 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time Winner of the L.A. Times Ray Bradbury Prize Finalist for the 2019 National Book Award The New York Times Bestseller Named a Best Book of 2019 by The Wall Street Journal, TIME, NPR, GQ, Vogue, and The Washington Post "A fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made." --Neil Gaiman "Gripping, action-packed....The literary equivalent of a Marvel Comics universe." --Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times The epic novel, an African Game of Thrones, from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of A Brief History of Seven Killings In the stunning f... continue
Recommended: 27 Sep 2022

3.

Cat's Cradle : A Novel by Kurt Vonnegut EN

Rating: 4     145 Votes
Description:
“A free-wheeling vehicle . . . an unforgettable ride!”—The New York Times Cat’s Cradle is Kurt Vonnegut’s satirical commentary on modern man and his madness. An apocalyptic tale of this planet’s ultimate fate, it features a midget as the protagonist, a complete, original theology created by a calypso singer, and a vision of the future that is at once blackly fatalistic and hilariously funny. A book that left an indelible mark on an entire generation of readers, Cat’s Cradle is one of the twentieth century’s most important works—and Vonnegut at his very best. “[Vonnegut is] an unimitative and i... continue

4.

Central Station by Lavie Tidhar EN

Rating: 4     11 Votes
Country: Asia / Israel flag Israel
Description:
An NPR Best Book of 2016 An Amazon Featured Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Book A Guardian Best SF & Fantasy Book of 2016 Longlist, British Science Fiction Award 2016, Best Novel 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award nominee "It's all of science fiction distilled into a single book." —Warren Ellis, author of Transmetropolitan and Gun Machine A worldwide diaspora has left a quarter of a million people at the foot of a space station. Cultures collide in real life and virtual reality. The city is literally a weed, its growth left unchecked. Life is cheap, and data is cheaper. When Boris Chong returns to Te... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

5.

Fever Dream by Samanta Scweblin EN

Rating: 3.5     30 Votes
Description:
NOW A FEATURE FILM COMING SOON TO NETFLIX "Genius." —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker Finalist for the Man Booker International Prize! Experience the blazing, surreal sensation of a fever dream... A young woman named Amanda lies dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. She’s not his mother. He's not her child. Together, they tell a haunting story of broken souls, toxins, and the power and desperation of family. Fever Dream is a nightmare come to life, a ghost story for the real world, a love story and a cautionary tale. One of the freshest new voices to come out of the... continue

6.
Foe

Foe : A Novel by Iain Reid EN

Rating: 3.5     15 Votes
Description:
A taut, psychological mind-bender from the bestselling author of I’m Thinking of Ending Things. We don’t get visitors. Not out here. We never have. In Iain Reid’s second haunting, philosophical puzzle of a novel, set in the near-future, Junior and Henrietta live a comfortable, solitary life on their farm, far from the city lights, but in close quarters with each other. One day, a stranger from the city arrives with alarming news: Junior has been randomly selected to travel far away from the farm...very far away. The most unusual part? Arrangements have already been made so that when he leaves,... continue
Recommended: 29 Nov 2022

7.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff EN

Rating: 4.5     79 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series. “Never have I read a book so wholly unique and utterly captivating.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and E... continue

8.

Jagannath : (stories) by Karin Tidbeck EN

Rating: 4     16 Votes
Country: Europe / Sweden flag Sweden
Description:
I have never read anything like Jagannath. Karin Tidbeck s imagination is recognizably Nordic, but otherwise unclassifiable quietly, intelligently, unutterably strange. And various. And ominous. And funny. And mysteriously tender. These are wonderful stories. Ursula K. Le Guin Restrained and vivid, poised and strange, Tidbeck, with her impossible harmonies, is a vital voice. China Mieville Enter the strange and wonderful world of Swedish sensation Karin Tidbeck with this feast of darkly fantastical short stories. Whether through the falsified historical record of the uniquely weird Swedish cre... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

9.

Journey To The Center Of The Earth by Jules Verne EN

Rating: 4     4 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Follows Professor Hardwigg, his nephew Harry, and their guide Hans as they venture deep into a volcanic crater in Iceland on a journey that leads them to the center of the Earth and to incredible and horrifying discoveries. Reissue.
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

10.

Little Eyes by Samanta Schweblin EN

Rating: 4.4     6 Votes
Description:
A visionary novel about the collision of technology and play, horror and humanity, from a master of the spine-tingling tale. They've infiltrated homes in Hong Kong, shops in Vancouver, the streets of Senegal, town squares of Oaxaca, schools in Tel Aviv, bedrooms in Ohio. They're following you. They're everywhere now. They're us. In Samanta Schweblin's wildly imaginative new novel, Little Eyes, "kentukis" have gone viral across the globe. They're little mechanical stuffed animals that have cameras for eyes, wheels for feet, and are connected to an anonymous global server. Owners of kentukis hav... continue


Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map