Domestic fiction genre books (6)


1.

A Girl Returned by Donatella Di Pietrantonio EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Italy flag Italy
Description:
"Told with an immediacy and a rare expressive intensity that has earned it countless adoring readers and one of Italy's most prestigious literary prizes, A Girl Returned marks the English-language debut of an extraordinary literary talent. Set against the stark, beautiful landscape of Abruzzo in central Italy, this is a compelling story about mothers and daughters, about responsibility, siblings, and caregiving. Without warning or explanation, an unnamed 13-year-old girl is sent away from the family she has always thought of as hers to live with her birth family: a large, chaotic assortment of... continue

2.

Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton EN

0 Ratings
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
An utterly wonderful novel of love, crime, magic, fate and coming of age, set in Brisbane's violent working class suburban fringe - from one of Australia's most exciting new writers. Brisbane, 1983: A lost father, a mute brother, a mum in jail, a heroin dealer for a stepfather and a notorious crim for a babysitter. It's not as if Eli's life isn't complicated enough already. He's just trying to follow his heart, learning what it takes to be a good man, but life just keeps throwing obstacles in the way - not least of which is Tytus Broz, legendary Brisbane drug dealer. But Eli's life is about to... continue

3.

Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras EN

Rating: 5 (5 votes)
Description:
LibraryReads and Indie Next PickThis mesmerizing debut set in Colombia at the height of Pablo Escobar's violent reign is about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid whose unlikely friendship threatens to undo them both. Inspired by the author's own life, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricably linked, coming-of-age stories.

4.

Last House Before the Mountain by Monika Helfer EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Austria flag Austria
Description:
#1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER For readers of Elena Ferrante, Téa Obrecht, and Claire Keegan, the spellbinding, internationally bestselling, multigenerational family saga set in a fractured rural village in WWI Austria. Maria and Josef live with their children in a valley in westernmost Austria. When the First World War breaks out and Josef is drafted into the army, Maria is left to provide for her family alone. Every day is a struggle against starvation, the harsh alpine climate and the hostile nearby villagers who see Maria as little more than a beautiful temptress out for the men left behind. ... continue


6.

The Lying Life of Adults by Elena Ferrante EN

Rating: 4 (5 votes)
Country: Europe / Italy flag Italy
Description:
A powerful new novel set in a divided Naples by Elena Ferrante, the beloved best-selling author of My Brilliant Friend. Giovanna's pretty face has changed: it's turning into the face of an ugly, spiteful adolescent. But is she seeing things as they really are? Into which mirror must she look to find herself and save herself? She is searching for a new face in two kindred cities that fear and detest one another: the Naples of the heights, which assumes a mask of refinement, and the Naples of the depths, which professes to be a place of excess and vulgarity. She moves between these two cities, d... continue