Trinidad and Tobago flag Books from Trinidad and Tobago

Recommended books (9)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the Read Around North America Challenge were written by authors from trinidad-and-tobago. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

Archipelago by Monique Roffey EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
When a flood destroys Gavin Weald's home, tearing apart his family and his way of life, he doesn't know how to continue. A year later, he returns to his rebuilt home and tries to start again, but when the new rainy season arrives, so do his daughter's nightmares about the torrents, and life there becomes unbearable. So father and daughter and their dog - embark upon a voyage to make peace with the waters. Their journey will take them far from their Caribbean island home, into other unknown harbours and eventually across a massive ocean. They will sail through archipelagos, encounter the grande... continue
Recommended: 06 Oct 2022

2.

Home Home by Lisa Allen-Agostini EN

0 Ratings
Description:
"Originally published in paperback in Great Britain by Papillote Press, London, in 2018"--Title page verso.
Recommended: 23 Jun 2022

3.

Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Meet the Ramdin-Chetan family: forged through loneliness, broken by secrets, saved by love. Irrepressible Betty Ramdin, her shy son Solo and their marvellous lodger, Mr Chetan, form an unconventional household, happy in their differences, as they build a home together. Home: the place where your navel string is buried, keeping these three safe from an increasingly dangerous world. Happy and loving they are, until the night when a glass of rum, a heart to heart and a terrible truth explodes the family unit, driving them apart. Brave and brilliant, steeped in affection, Love After Love asks us t... continue
Genre
Recommended: 10 Jun 2022

4.

Miguel Street by Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul EN

Rating: 3.5     15 Votes
Description:
A stranger could drive through Miguel Street and just say 'Slum!' because he could see no more. But to it's residents this derelict corner of Trinidad's capital is a complete world, where everybody is quite different from everybody else...Set during World War II and narrated by an unnamed - but precociously observant - neighbourhood boy, Miguel Street is a work of mercurial mood shifts, by turns sweetly melancholy and anarchically funny. It overflows with life on every page.

5.
Pleasantview

Pleasantview by Celeste Mohammed EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
Coconut trees. Carnival. Rum and coke. To many outsiders, these and other sunny images are all they know about life in the Caribbean. However, if you want to learn how the locals truly live and experience the dark and often harrowing truths that lurk behind the idyllic imagery of Caribbean culture, then come visit the town of Pleasantview. Come during election season, and see how one candidate sets out to slaughter endangered turtles - just for fun. Or come on the day the other candidate beats his "outside-woman," so badly she ends up losing their baby. Then come on the night of the political ... continue

6.

The Dragon Can't Dance by Earl Lovelace EN

Rating: 5     3 Votes
Description:
The carnival usually succeeds in uniting the residents of Calvary Hill in Trinidad, but changes in the festival threaten to divide the community

7.

The Mermaid of Black Conch : A Love Story by Monique Roffey EN

Rating: 4.4     4 Votes
Description:
Escape to the ocean with the entrancing, unforgettable winner of the Costa Book of the Year - as read on BBC Radio 4. 'Mesmerising' MAGGIE O'FARRELL 'A unique talent' BERNARDINE EVARISTO 'Wonderful' BRIDGET COLLINS 'Brilliant' CLARE CHAMBERS Near the island of Black Conch, a fisherman sings to himself while waiting for a catch. But David attracts a sea-dweller that he never expected - Aycayia, an innocent young woman cursed by jealous wives to live as a mermaid. When American tourists capture Aycayia, David rescues her and vows to win her trust. Slowly, painfully, she transforms into a woman a... continue
Recommended: 02 Sep 2022

8.

The Middle Passage : The Caribbean Revisited by Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A look at Trinidad, British Guiana, Surinam, Martinique, and Jamaica focuses on the influence of European colonization on the language, politics, values, and culture of the Caribbean. Reprint. 12,500 first printing.
Recommended: 06 Oct 2022

9.
When We Were Birds

When We Were Birds by Ayanna Lloyd Banwo EN

Rating: 4.4     7 Votes
Description:
Mesmerising, mythic and timeless, the most unmissable debut novel of 2022 now out in paperback - for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique Roffey Recommended Read for 2022 in the Observer, New Statesman, Irish Times, Buzzfeed, Good Housekeeping, The Daily Nerd, Essence and more 'BELIEVE THE HYPE' Stella, Sunday Telegraph 'A searing symphony of magic and loss, love and hope... This book just might heal you' Marlon James 'It's a knockout, and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo is a star. I want to read everything she writes' Niven Govinden Darwin is a down-on-his-luck gravedigger, newly arrived in th... continue
Recommended: 27 Oct 2022


FIND BOOKS FROM TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO BY GENRE

Adventure Cultural Fantasy Folklore Historical fiction Memoir Mystery Short story

FIND BOOKS FROM TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO BY LANGUAGE

English

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map