Trinidad and Tobago flag Books from Trinidad and Tobago

24 popular trinidadian and tobagonian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around North America Challenge" were written by authors from Trinidad and Tobago. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

A House for Mr. Biswas by V. S. Naipaul EN

Rating: 3     2 Votes
Description:
In his forty-six short years, Mr. Mohun Biswas has been fighting against destiny to achieve some semblance of independence, only to face a lifetime of calamity. Shuttled from one residence to another after the drowning death of his father, for which he is inadvertently responsible, Mr. Biswas yearns for a place he can call home. But when he marries into the domineering Tulsi family on whom he indignantly becomes dependent, Mr. Biswas embarks on an arduous -- and endless -- struggle to weaken their hold over him, and purchase a house of his own.

2.

Archipelago by Monique Roffey EN

0 Ratings
Description:
When a flood destroys Gavin Weald's home, tearing apart his family and his way of life, he doesn't know how to continue. A year later, he returns to his rebuilt home and tries to start again, but when the new rainy season arrives, so do his daughter's nightmares about the torrents, and life there becomes unbearable. So father and daughter and their dog - embark upon a voyage to make peace with the waters. Their journey will take them far from their Caribbean island home, into other unknown harbours and eventually across a massive ocean. They will sail through archipelagos, encounter the grande... continue

3.

Capitalism and Slavery by Eric Williams EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
"Slavery helped finance the Industrial Revolution in England. Plantation owners, shipbuilders, and merchants connected with the slave trade accumulated vast fortunes that established banks and heavy industry in Europe and expanded the reach of capitalism worldwide. Eric Williams advanced these powerful ideas in Capitalism and Slavery, published in 1944. Years ahead of its time, his profound critique became the foundation for studies of imperialism and economic development. Binding an economic view of history with strong moral argument, Williams's study of the role of slavery in financing the I... continue

4.

El Cereus florece de noche by Shani Mootoo ES

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
Enlazada en una pequeña isla del Caribe, esta historia de amor, silencio y traicion explica el misterio que envuelve a Mala Ramchandon, una anciana perturbada que esta al cuidado de un cariñoso enfermero homosexual.

5.

El sanador místico by Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
En esta su primera novela, V.S. Naipaul presta su voz a Ganesh Ramsumair, maestro espiritual y político que, desde los más humildes orígenes, llegará a obtener la Orden del Imperio Británico. Pero no es la historia de este curioso personaje el argumento principal de esta novela: el ascenso social, el descubrimento de la cultura y de la escritura, el mundo colonial, la falsedad de las políticas poscoloniales o la ternura de la vida cotidiana son los temas que Naipaul nos presenta a través de Ganesh, y que serán, ya desde esta primera obra,... continue

6.

Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Description:
Winner of the 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalist for the 2015 Toronto Book Awards Winner of the 2015 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize "[Alexis] devises an inventive romp through the nature of humanity in this beautiful, entertaining read … A clever exploration of our essence, communication, and how our societies are organized." – Kirkus Reviews "This might be the best set-up of the spring." – The Globe & Mail "André Alexis has established himself as one of our preeminent voices." – Toronto Star — I wonder, said Hermes, what it would be like if animals had human intelligence. — I'll wager... continue

7.

Golden Child : A Novel by Claire Adam EN

0 Ratings
Description:
"Published in Great Britain by Faber and Faber UK"--Title page verso.

8.

Guerrillas by Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul EN

Rating: 2     1 Vote
Description:
A novel of colonialism and revolution, death, sexual violence and political and spiritual impotence. Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

9.

Home Home by Lisa Allen-Agostini EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and the unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home. Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever. Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus ... continue

10.

Hungry Ghosts by Kevin Jared Hosein EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
_____________________________ * A BBC TWO BETWEEN THE COVERS BOOK CLUB PICK FOR 2023 * 'A shimmering slice of Trinidadian gothic . . . Sumptuous, brilliantly written' THE TIMES 'An astonishing novel – linguistically gorgeous, narratively propulsive and psychologically profound' BERNARDINE EVARISTO 'Deeply impressive . . . Energy and inventiveness distinguish every page' HILARY MANTEL 'The biggest, most frightening, beautiful and alive novel I've read in as long as I can remember' EVIE WYLD _____________________________ A 2023 highlight for: Financial Times * Guardian * Evening Standard * Daily... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Crime Cultural Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Magical realism Memoir Mystery Mythology Philosophical Political Short story