Books set in China (53)


Find more books set in China by genre:
1.

A Daughter of Han; the Autobiography of a Chinese Working Woman by Ida Pruitt, from the story told her by Ning Lao T'ai-t'ai EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
2011 Reprint of 1945 Edition. Full facsimile of the original edition, not reproduced with Optical Recognition Software. In "A Daughter of Han" author Ida Pruitt presents the autobiography of a Chinese working woman. Through this story the reader gains insight into the China of the poor, of women, and of the provinces. The subject of the autobiography, Ning Lao Tai-Tai, is also interesting as she lived in the period, the late 19th to mid 20th century, during which China underwent its most dramatic changes. This is a genuine, warm-blooded, dramatic chronicle of a woman's life, of the life of one... continue

2.

A Stone Is Most Precious Where It Belongs : A Memoir of Uyghur Exile, Hope, and Survival by Gulchehra Hoja EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
In the vein of Nadia Murad's The Last Girl and Yeonmi Park's In Order to Live, an extraordinary memoir of life among the Uyghurs, a people and culture being systematically destroyed by China, and a woman who gave up everything to help her people In February 2018, twenty-four members of Gulchehra Hoja's family disappeared overnight. In one evening, all those she had left behind in Ürümchi when she fled to a new life in the United States were arrested because of her. Her crime - and thus that of her family - was her award-winning investigations for Radio Free Asia on the plight of the Uyghur peo... continue

3.

Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Sijie Dai EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
New York Times Bestseller Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress is an enchanting tale that captures the magic of reading and the wonder of romantic awakening. An immediate international bestseller, it tells the story of two hapless city boys exiled to a remote mountain village for re-education during China’s infamous Cultural Revolution. There the two friends meet the daughter of the local tailor and discover a hidden stash of Western classics in Chinese translation. As they flirt with the seamstress and secretly devour these banned works, the two friends find transit from their grim surrou... continue


5.

Balzac y la joven costurera china by Sijie Dai ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
Dos adolescentes chinos son enviados a una aldea perdida en las montanas del Fenix del Cielo, cerca de la frontera con el Tibet, para cumplir con el proceso de "reeducacion" implantado por Mao Zedong a finales de los anos sesenta. Soportando unas condiciones de vida infrahumanas, con unas perspectivas casi nulas de regresar algun dia a su ciudad natal, todo cambia con la aparicion de una maleta clandestina llena de obras emblematicas de la literatura occidental. Asi pues, gracias a la lectura de Balzac, Dumas, Stendhal o Romain Roland, los dos jovenes descubriran un mundo repleto de poesia, se... continue

6.

Becoming Madame Mao by Anchee Min EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
From the author of the international bestseller Empress Orchid comes the stirring, erotically charged story of the woman known as 'the white-boned demon' - the ambitious wife of Chairman Mao whose actions led to the death of millions in the Cultural Revolution. From the young, unwanted daughter of a concubine, defiant in her refusal to have her feet bound, to the wayward, beautiful actress on the stages of Shanghai, to the ruthless, charismatic partner of the great revolutionary leader, Mao Zedong, Anchee Min moves seamlessly from the intimately personal to the broad sweep of world history in ... continue

7.

Brothers by Yu Hua FR

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
A bestseller in China, Brothers is an epic and wildly unhinged black comedy of modern Chinese society running amok. Here is China as we've never seen it before, in a sweeping, Rabelaisian panorama of forty years of rough-and-rumble Chinese history, from the madness of the Cultural Revolution to the equally rabid madness of extreme materialism. Yu Hua, award-winning author of To Live, gives us a surreal tale of two comically mismatched stepbrothers, Baldy Li, a sex-obsessed ne'er-do-well, and the bookish, sensitive Song Gang, who vow that they will always be brothers—a bond they will struggle t... continue

8.

China Witness : Voices from a Silent Generation by Xinran EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
In 1912, 5000 years of feudal rule ended in China. In 1949, Mao Zedong came to power. This book is a personal testimony from a normally silent generation, a huge major work of oral history which sums up, in their own words, the vast changes which have overtaken China and its people over a century.

9.

Dragon Springs Road : A Novel by Janie Chang EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
From the author of Three Souls comes a vividly imagined and haunting new novel set in early 20th century Shanghai—a story of friendship, heartbreak, and history that follows a young Eurasian orphan’s search for her long-lost mother. That night I dreamed that I had wandered out to Dragon Springs Road all on my own, when a dreadful knowledge seized me that my mother had gone away never to return . . . In 1908, Jialing is only seven years old when she is abandoned in the courtyard of a once-lavish estate near Shanghai. Jialing is zazhong—Eurasian—and faces a lifetime of contempt from both Chinese... continue

10.

Dream of the Red Chamber by Cao Xueqin EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
The Chia family experiences a decline in fortune during the Ch'ing dynasty.