Books set in Egypt (34)


Find more books set in Egypt by genre:
1.

Akhenatón by Naguib Mahfuz ES

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Africa / Egypt flag Egypt
Description:
Akhenatón, el Faraón monoteísta, hereje y poeta. La investigación de un estudiante. Una novela con un sabor diferente, en la que Mahfouz nos traslada de nuevo al Egipto faraónico, que destacó en utilizar para presentar sus ideas. La idea de leer un evento desde más de una perspectiva... los motivos ocultos de cada uno de ellos se revelan a pesar del intento de cada uno de ocultar sus motivos detrás de máscaras de sabiduría. El método de Mahfouz al escribir la novela en un nuevo estilo, y no simplemente una narraci&o... continue

2.

Alchimistul by Paulo Coelho RO

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
O data la cateva decenii, apare o carte care schimba pentru totdeauna viata cititorilor sai. Alchimistul lui Paulo Coelho este o astfel de carte. Singura noastra obligatie este sa ne realizam destinul. Extraordinarul roman al lui Paulo Coelho a inspirat milioane de cititori din intreaga lume. Aceasta poveste, uluitoare in simplitatea si intelepciunea ei, este despre un pastor andaluz pe nume Santiago care isi paraseste casa din Spania, aventurandu-se in Africa de Nord in cautarea unei comori ingropate in Piramide. Pe drum intalneste o tiganca tanara si frumoasa, un barbat care isi spune rege s... continue

3.

Anatomy of a Disappearance by Hisham Matar EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Africa / Libya flag Libya
Description:
Nuri is a young boy when his mother dies. It seems that nothing will fill the emptiness that her strange death leaves behind in the Cairo apartment he shares with his father. Until Mona. When Nuri first sees Mona, sitting in her bright yellow swimsuit by the pool of the Magda Marina holiday resort, the rest of the world vanishes. But it is Nuri's father with whom Mona falls in love and who she will eventually marry. And their happiness consumes Nuri to the point where he longs to get his father out of the way. However, Nuri will soon regret what he wished for. And, as he and his stepmother's w... continue

4.

Beer in the Snooker Club by Waguih Ghali EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Africa / Egypt flag Egypt
Description:
Behind the bar at Jameel's in Cairo hang two mugs engraved with the names of Ram and Font. During their years together in London, they drank many a pint of Bass from these mugs. But there is no Bass in Nasser's Egypt, so Ram and Font have to make do with a heady mixture of beer, vodka and whisky. Yearning for Bass they long to be far from a revolution that neither serves the people nor allows their rich aunts to live the life of leisure they are accustomed to. Stranded between two cultures, Ram and Font must choose between dangerous political opposition and reluctant acquiescence. First publis... continue

5.

Call Me by Your Name : A Novel by André Aciman EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Africa / Egypt flag Egypt
Description:
The sudden and powerful attraction between a teenage boy and a summer guest at his parents' house on the Italian Riviera has a profound and lasting influence that will mark them both for a lifetime.

6.

City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Description:
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Library Journal | Vulture | The Verge | SYFYWire Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty perfect for fans of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts. On the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, Nahri is a con woman of unsurpassed skill. She makes her living swindling Ottoman nobles, hoping to one day earn enough to change her fortunes. But when Nahri acci... continue



9.

Death on the Nile : A Hercule Poirot Mystery by Agatha Christie EN

Rating: 4.5     2 Votes
Description:
The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile was shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway had been shot through the head. She was young, stylish, and beautiful. A girl who had everything . . . until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalled an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: "I'd like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger." Yet in this exotic setting nothing is ever quite what it seems.

10.

Der letzte Tag des Präsidenten by Naǧīb Maḥfūẓ DE

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Africa / Egypt flag Egypt
Description:
Dieser Roman zeichnet mit höchster Konzentration und Dichte das Lebensgefühl der Ära Sadat.