The Country of Others

by Leila Slimani

Rating: 3     1 Vote

Tags: Female author

The Country of Others

Description:
'A panoramic, ambitious tale.' The Times'Exceptional.' Salman Rushdie'Powerful.' Christine Mangan'Captivating.' Elle1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco.But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer's wife - with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless.As Morocco's struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.From the internationally bestselling author, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O'Farrell.

Add comment

Challenge: Read Around Africa Challenge
Country: Morocco flag Morocco
Language: EN
Genre:

More books from Morocco

Les jardins du roi Straight from the Horse's Mouth Leaving Tangier

More books from Read Around Africa Challenge

Maan Maal The Automobile Club of Egypt The Myth of Sisyphus