English books from Europe

Recommended English books (1223)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. If you speak English here are some English books from Europe for the next part of the "Read Around The World Challenge".
471.

Monte Carlo by Peter Terrin EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Belgium flag Belgium
Description:
It is the Monaco Grand Prix in May 1968. Jack Preston, a mechanic for Team Sutton, is making the final checks on his car as the beau monde mingles with the drivers under the eyes of the world's press and the galleries of spectators. DeeDee, a starlet of great beauty, seems to be walking towards him, or perhaps towards the royal box. Without warning a fireball rips across the starting grid. Preston will always bear the scars as a consequence of his unthinking heroism, his saving the life and the beauty of the girl, but details of the accident remain vague - no photographs capturing the moment h... continue

472.

Moominland Midwinter by Tove Jansson EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Country: Europe / Finland flag Finland
Description:
When Moomintroll wakes up in January, he finds that winter has changed all his favorite places.
Genre

473.

Moonstone : The Boy Who Never Was: A Novel by Sjón EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Iceland flag Iceland
Description:
Reykjavik, 1918. The eruptions of the Katla volcano darken the sky night and day. Yet despite the natural disaster, the shortage of coal and the Great War still raging in the outside world, life in the small capital goes on as always. Sixteen-year-old Mani Steinn lives for the movies. Awake, he lives on the fringes of society. Asleep, he dreams in pictures, the threads of his own life weaving through the tapestry of the films he loves. When the Spanish flu epidemic comes ashore, killing hundreds of townspeople and forcing thousands to their sick beds, the shadows that linger at the edges of ex... continue

474.

Mother Courage and Her Children by Bertolt Brecht EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Germany flag Germany
Description:
Widely considered one of the great dramatic creations of the modem stage, Mother Courage and Her Children is Bertolt Brecht s most passionate and profound statement against war. Set in the seventeenth century, the play follows Anna Fierling ( Mother Courage ), an itinerant trader, as she pulls her wagon of wares and her children through the blood and carnage of Europe s religious wars. Battered by hardships, brutality, and the degradation and death of her children, she ultimately finds herself alone with the one thing in which she truly believes her ramshackle wagon with its tattered flag and ... continue

475.

Mother Dear : A Thriller by Nova Lee Maier EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
There's only one thing worse than doing the unthinkable: what you're willing to do to hide it. Helen lives a decent, uncomplicated life. Satisfied in her career, she's raising three happy teenagers, and her family has the most envied house on the street. Admittedly, she's growing just a little disenchanted with her marriage to her workaholic husband, Werner. But that's nothing she can't fix. Then one day Helen comes home to something completely unexpected that threatens to shatter her carefully cultivated world. For disaffected, young petty criminals Ralf and Brian, it was a scheme to make som... continue

476.

Motherfield : Poems and Belarusian Protest Diary by Julia Cimafiejeva EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Belarus flag Belarus
Description:
A poetry collection where personal is inevitably political and ecological, Motherfield is a poet's insistence on self-determination in authoritarian, patriarchal Belarus. Julia Cimafiejeva was born in an area of rural Belarus that became a Chernobyl zone when she was a child. The book opens with a poet's diary that records the course of violence unfolding in Belarus since the 2020 presidential election. It paints an intimate portrait of the poet's struggle with fear, despair, and guilt as she goes to protests, escapes police, longs for readership, learns about the detention of family and frien... continue

477.

Mothers and Daughters by Vedrana Rudan EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Croatia flag Croatia
Description:
At the center of this novel is the story of a daughter looking after her mother, who's been admitted to a nursing home after a stroke landed her in the hospital. All her mother wants is pain medicine and to go home. This delicate situation serves as a jumping-off point for Rudan to wander freely through memories of her parents, her husband, friends, and a daughter of her own. Out of these elements, Rudan weaves together an unsentimental, unflinching story about the difficult love that exists between parents and children, the inability of people ever to say the right thing, the grotesque--yet u... continue

478.

Mr Kato Plays Family by Milena Michiko Flašar EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Austria flag Austria
Description:
Milena Michiko Flašar's Mr Katō Plays Family is an eccentric second-lease-on-life novel for fans of A Man Called Ove and Beautiful World, Where Are You. Mr Katō—a curmudgeon and recent retiree—finds his only solace during his daily walks, where he wonders how his life went wrong and daydreams about getting a dog (which his wife won’t allow). During one of these walks, he is approached by a young woman who calls herself Mie, who invites him to join her business Happy Family, which hires people to act as part-time relatives or acquaintances; helping clients in need of a family member, for whatev... continue

479.

Mrs Death Misses Death by Salena Godden EN

Rating: 2 (1 vote)
Description:
SHORTLISTED FOR THE GORDON BURN PRIZE Mrs Death tells her intoxicating story in this life-affirming fire-starter of a novel Mrs Death has had enough. She is exhausted by her job and now seeks someone to unburden her conscience to. She meets Wolf, a troubled young writer, who – enthralled by her stories – begins to write Mrs Death’s memoirs. As the two reflect on the losses they have experienced (or facilitated), their friendship flourishes. All the while, despite her world-weariness, Death must continue to hold humans’ fates in her hands, appearing in our lives when we least expect her . . .... continue
Genre



FIND BOOKS FROM EUROPE BY LANGUAGE

Catalan · Danish · English · Finnish · French · German · Italian · Nederlands · Norwegian · Polish · Portuguese · Romanian · Spanish · Swedish