Ukraine flag Books from Ukraine

42 popular ukrainian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Europe Challenge" were written by authors from Ukraine. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.
A Set Of Six

A Set Of Six by Joseph Conrad EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine

2.

Brisbane by Eugene Vodolazkin EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
In this complex novel from the winner of two of Russia's biggest literary prizes, a celebrated guitarist robbed of his talent by Parkinson's disease seeks other paths to immortality. For readers of Dostoyevsky, Tolstoy, Umberto Eco, and Solzhenitsyn, this richly layered new novel from the author of Laurus follows a musical prodigy in search of inner peace as he faces an incurable disease. Like Vodolazkin's earlier novels, this personal story of a lifetime quest for meaning will resonate with any mortal who has grasped for eternity. At fifty, Gleb Yanovski, an acclaimed guitar virtuoso, is diag... continue

3.
Carbide

Carbide by Andriy Lyubka EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
Carbide explores the underbelly of the Ukrainian smuggling industry in a merciless yet loving parody of Ukrainian nationalism.


5.

Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
One of the most unusual works of nineteenth-century fiction and a devastating satire on social hypocrisy Chichikov, a mysterious stranger, arrives in a provincial town and visits a succession of landowners to make each a strange offer. He proposes to buy the names of dead serfs still registered on the census, saving their owners from paying tax on them, and to use these “souls” as collateral to reinvent himself as a gentleman. In this ebullient masterpiece, Gogol created a grotesque gallery of human types, from the bear-like Sobakevich to the insubstantial fool Manilov, and, above all, the dev... continue

6.

Deaf Republic by Ilya Kaminsky EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
Finalist for the National Book Award for Poetry Ilya Kaminsky’s astonishing parable in poems asks us, What is silence? Deaf Republic opens in an occupied country in a time of political unrest. When soldiers breaking up a protest kill a deaf boy, Petya, the gunshot becomes the last thing the citizens hear—they all have gone deaf, and their dissent becomes coordinated by sign language. The story follows the private lives of townspeople encircled by public violence: a newly married couple, Alfonso and Sonya, expecting a child; the brash Momma Galya, instigating the insurgency from her puppet thea... continue

7.

Depeche Mode by Serhiy Zhadan EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
In 1993, tragic turbulence takes over Ukraine in the post-communist spin-off. As if in somnambulism, Soviet war veterans and upstart businessmen listen to an American preacher of whose type there were plenty at the time in the post-Soviet territory. In Kharkiv, the young communist headquarters is now an advertising agency, and a youth radio station brings Western music, with Depeche Mode in the lead, into homes of ordinary people. In the middle of this craze three friends, an anti-Semitic Jew Dogg Pavlov, an unfortunate entrepreneur Vasia the Communist and the narrator Zhadan, nineteen years o... continue

8.

Diary of a Madman and Other Stories: The Nose; the Carriage; the Overcoat; Taras Bulba by Nikolai Gogol EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
Hailed by Nabokov as "the greatest artist that Russia has yet produced," Nikolai Gogol (1809-1852) left his mark as a playwright, novelist, and writer of short stories. Gogol's works remain popular with both writers and readers, who prize his originality, imaginative gifts, and sheer exuberance. This collection offers an excellent introduction to the author's works. Opening a door to his bizarre world of broad comedy, fantasy, and social commentary, the title story portrays a petty official's mental disintegration as he struggles for the attention of the woman he love... continue

9.

Die Legende vom heiligen Trinker by Joseph Roth DE

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
his book, one of the most haunting things that Roth ever composed, was published in 1939, the year the author died. Like Andreas, the hero of the story, Roth drank himself to death in Paris, but this is not an autobiographical confession. It is a secular miracle-tale, in which the vagrant Andreas, after living under bridges, has a series of lucky breaks that lift him briefly onto a different plane of existence. The novella is extraordinarily compressed, dry-eyed and witty, despite its melancholic subject-matter.



FIND BOOKS FROM UKRAINE BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Cultural Essay Fantasy Feminism Historical Historical fiction Horror Humor Magical realism Memoir Mythology Philosophical Poetry Political Psychology Satire Short story