English books from Europe

Recommended English books (1337)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. If you speak English here are some English books from Europe for the next part of the "Read Around The World Challenge".
511.

Men Who Hate Women : From Incels to Pickup Artists, the Truth about Extreme Misogyny and How It Affects Us All by Laura Bates EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
A ground-breaking investigation into extreme misogyny.

512.

Mendelssohn is on the Roof by Jiri Weil EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
SS Officer Juliyus Schlesinger is ordered to remove the statue of the Jewish composer Mendelssohn from the roof of the Prague Academy of Music before an official concert. Unsure which of the statues is Mendelssohn, he tells his men to remove the one with the biggest nose. Unfortunately, this is the statue of Wagner.

513.

Mere Christianity : Comprising The Case for Christianity, Christian Behaviour, and Beyond Personality by C. S. Lewis EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
Discusses the essence of Christian faith and the doctrine of the Trinity.

514.

Mesopotamia by Serhiĭ Z︠H︡adan EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
A unique work of fiction from the troubled streets of Ukraine, giving invaluable testimony to the new history unfolding in the nation's post-independence years "One of the most astounding novels to come out of modern Ukraine. Mesopotamia is seductive, twisted, brilliant, and fierce."--Gary Shteyngart, author of Little Failure and Absurdistan This captivating book is Serhiy Zhadan's ode to Kharkiv, the traditionally Russian-speaking city in Eastern Ukraine where he makes his home. A leader among Ukrainian post‑independence authors, Zhadan employs both prose and poetry to address the disillusion... continue

515.

Metropole by Ferenc Karinthy EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Hungary flag Hungary
Description:
A haunting Hungarian novel, and a vision of hell unlike any previously imagined.

516.

Midnight Blue : A Novel by Simone van der Vlugt EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age—perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring. Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland's Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life. Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Go... continue

517.

Miss Julie by August Strindberg EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Sweden flag Sweden
Description:
One of the greatest classics of modern theater concerns a willful young aristocrat's seduction of her father's valet during a Midsummer's Eve celebration. Complete with Strindberg's highly-regarded critical preface.


519.

Miss Smilla's Feeling for Snow by Peter Høeg EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Denmark flag Denmark
Description:
One snowy day in Copenhagen, six-year-old Isaiah falls to his death from a city rooftop. The police pronounce it an accident. But Isaiah's neighbour, Smilla, suspects murder. She embarks on a dangerous quest to find the truth, following a path of clues as clear to her as footsteps in the snow. 'A subtle novel, yet direct, clever, wistful, unforgettable' Ruth Rendell, Daily Telegraph 'On one level, both a whodunit and a thriller - ingeniously plotted. Extremely hard to put down. Peter H�eg's novel is already making for classic status' Sunday Times 'Unusual and enveloping. Extraordinarily evocat... continue

520.

Moldavian Autumn by Ion Drutse EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Moldova flag Moldova
Description:
Ion Drutse was born in Moldavia, the son of a peasant. He graduated from a village school, worked on the staff of several Moldavian papers for some years, and then left for Moscow to continue his studies at the Higher Literary Courses. Ten years later, in 1967, Drutse was awarded the State Prize for Literature of the Moldavian SSR. Ion Drutze is the author of several collections of short stories, a novel, The Burden of Our Kindness, a play Casa Mare, and a short novel Georghe, the Widow?s Son. This edition of Drutse?s selected works is a cheerful book, though there is also an undertone of sadn... continue
Genre


FIND BOOKS FROM EUROPE BY LANGUAGE

Catalan · Danish · English · Finnish · French · German · Italian · Nederlands · Norwegian · Polish · Portuguese · Romanian · Spanish · Swedish