Syria flag Books from Syria

17 popular syrian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from Syria. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

A Sky So Close to Us : A novel by Shahla Ujayli EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
A multigenerational tale of love, loss, exile, and rebirth, shortlisted for the 2016 International Prize for Arabic Fiction. As children sleeping on the rooftop of their ancestral family home in Raqqa on warm summer nights, Joumane and her sisters imagine the sky is so close they can almost touch it. Years later, Joumane lives as an expatriate in Jordan, working for a humanitarian agency, while her sisters remain trapped in war-torn Syria. Living alone as she fights her own battle with cancer, she contemplates the closeness of the same sky, despite the sharply delineated borders that now separ... continue
Genre

2.

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow by Zoulfa Katouh EN

Rating: 5     4 Votes
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
An epic, emotional, breathtaking story of love and loss set amid the Syrian revolution. Burning with the fires of hope and possibility, AS LONG AS THE LEMON TREES GROW will sweep you up and never let you go. _______________ SHORTLISTED FOR THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS DISCOVER BOOK OF THE YEAR 'This is an important book. Everyone should read it' - Elizabeth Laird, award-winning author of Welcome to Nowhere 'Wrenching and lyrical' - Samira Ahmed, New York Times bestselling author of Internment 'Hauntingly beautiful ... a must read' - Huda Fahmy, author of Huda F Are You _______________ Salama Kassab... continue

3.
De kaart van zout en sterren

De Kaart van Zout en Sterren by Zeyn Joukhadar NL

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Betoverend boek voor fans van ‘De zoon van de verhalenverteller’. Hartverscheurend verhaal van een hedendaags Syrisch meisje en een middeleeuwse avonturier, beide verhalen zijn sterk en meeslepend. ‘De kaart van zout en sterren’ van Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar is een betoverend boek voor liefhebbers van ‘De zoon van de verhalenverteller’. Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar vertelt het hartverscheurende verhaal van een hedendaags Syrisch meisje en een middeleeuwse avonturier, en beide verhaallijnen zijn even sterk en meeslepend. Wanneer Nours vader overlijdt, besluit haar moeder met haar drie dochters ter... continue

4.

Death is Hard Work by Khaled Khalifa EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR TRANSLATED LITERATURE A dogged, absurd quest through the nightmare of the Syrian civil war Khaled Khalifa’s Death Is Hard Work is the new novel from the greatest chronicler of Syria’s ongoing and catastrophic civil war: a tale of three ordinary people facing down the stuff of nightmares armed with little more than simple determination. Abdel Latif, an old man from the Aleppo region, dies peacefully in a hospital bed in Damascus. His final wish, conveyed to his youngest son, Bolbol, is to be buried in the family plot in their ancestral village of Anabiya... continue

5.

Eine Hand voller Sterne by Rafik Schami DE

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Über 2 Jahre hinweg berichtet ein 14-jähriger Syrer über sein Leben als Schüler, Handlanger und Mitstreiter einer Untergrundzeitung in Damaskus.

6.

El secreto del calígrafo by Rafik Schami ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
Un vibrante retrato de Damasco en los años posteriores a la independencia, cuyos protagonistas son un reputado calígrafo, una mujer de gran belleza y un joven cristiano de noble carácter. En las populosas calles de la ciudad vieja, el rumor se extiende como una marea: Nura, la joven y bella esposa del afamado calígrafo Hamid Farsi, se ha fugado de casa sin dejar rastro. De inmediato, cientos de voces especulan sobre los motivos de tal desplante. ¿Habrá sucumbido al insistente ruego del célebre donjuán Nassri Abbani, que para conquistar la única pieza que se le resiste ha acudido nada menos que... continue

7.

Growing Up bin Laden : Osama's Wife and Son Take Us Inside Their Secret World by Najwa bin Laden, Omar bin Laden, Jean Sasson EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
From the New York Times bestselling author of Princess: A True Story of Life Behind the Veil in Saudi Arabia In their own words, Osama bin Laden's wife and son tell the astonishing story of the man they knew—or thought they knew—before September 11, 2001. The world knows Osama bin Laden as the most wanted terrorist of our time. But people are not born terrorists, and bin Laden has carefully guarded the details of his private life—until now, when his first wife and fourth-born son break the silence to take us inside his strange and secret world. In spine-tingling detail, Jean Sasson tells their... continue

8.

In Praise of Hatred by Khaled Khalifa EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
1980s Syria. Our young narrator is living a secluded life behind the veil in the vast and perfumed house of her grandparents. Her three aunts bring her up with the aid of their ever-devoted blind servant. Soon the high walls of the family home are unable to protect her from the social and political upheavals outside.

9.

My Country : A Syrian Memoir by Kassem Eid EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
'Powerful ... A humbling and important first-hand account of a brutal civil war in which as many as 500,000 people have died' Guardian'A memoir of resistance and survival unique in the annals of modern war ... If the shedding of blood can be beautiful in words, he makes it so' Wall Street JournalBorn to Palestinian refugees, Kassem Eid grew up in the small town of Moadamiya on the outskirts of the ancient city of Damascus, playing in streets perfumed with jasmine. But it didn't take long for Kassem to realise that he was treated differently at school because of his family's resistance to the b... continue
Genre

10.

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Country: Asia / Syria flag Syria
Description:
A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US—and her new... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM SYRIA BY GENRE

Adult Biography Historical Historical fiction Memoir Poetry Political Religious Short story Young Adult