Vietnam flag Books from Vietnam

25 popular vietnamese books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from Vietnam. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

Build Your House Around My Body : A Novel by Violet Kupersmith EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Part puzzle, part revenge tale, part ghost story, this ingenious novel spins half a century of Vietnamese history and folklore into “a thrilling read, acrobatic and filled with verve” (The New York Times Editors’ Choice). FINALIST FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION’S FIRST NOVEL PRIZE • LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Times Book Review, NPR, Good Housekeeping, Kirkus Reviews “Fiction as daring and accomplished as Violet Kupersmith’s first novel reignites my love of the form and its kaleidoscopic possibilities.”—David Mitchell, author of Cl... continue

2.

Butterfly Yellow by Thanhhà Lai EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction! Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews! In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texa... continue


4.

Fire Road : The Napalm Girl's Journey Through the Horrors of War to Faith, Forgiveness, and Peace by Kim Phuc Phan Thi, Kim Phúc EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Get out! Run! We must leave this place! They are going to destroy this whole place! Go, children, run first! Go now! These were the final shouts nine year-old Kim Phuc heard before her world dissolved into flames--before napalm bombs fell from the sky, burning away her clothing and searing deep into her skin. It's a moment forever captured, an iconic image that has come to define the horror and violence of the Vietnam War. Kim was left for dead in a morgue; no one expected her to survive the attack. Napalm meant fire, and fire meant death. Against all odds, Kim lived--but her journey toward he... continue

5.

La mensajera de cristal by Thị Hoài Phạm ES

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Nacida en 1960, Pham Thi Hoài centra su narrativa en el Vietnam de hoy y, como otros escritores de su generación, no trata ya el tema de la guerra. Es sorprendente su capacidad para comprender el dolor que se esconde tras unas vidas míseras y triviales, y sus reivindicaciones como mujer y como vietnamita hicieron que sus obras resultaran en su país una escándalo inadmisible y tuvieran serios problemas con la censura. Sin embargo, lo más notable en esta autora es su estilo personalísimo, inconfundible, hecho a la vez de ferocidad y ternura, de po... continue

6.
Los Paraísos ciegos

Los Paraísos ciegos by Thu Huong Duong ES

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
"No mires nunca atrás, ni siquiera el tiempo de un relámpago. Ninguna felicidad podría resistirlo. Cualquier porvenir se deshilacharía". En tiempos de guerra es tal vez inevitable convertir en demonio al enemigo, y la sabiduría de esta novela consiste precisamente en despojarle de esa máscara demoníaca restableciendo su rostro humano. La historia de Huong describe los problemas de gente común y las contradicciones de la reforma política, pero su personalidad, sus alegrías y sufrimientos, sus terribles retos y el ca... continue


8.

Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Winner of the 2017 T. S. Eliot Prize 'Reading Vuong is like watching a fish move- he manages the varied currents of English with muscled intuition.' New Yorker An extraordinary debut from a young Vietnamese American, Night Sky with Exit Wounds is a book of poetry unlike any other. Steeped in war and cultural upheaval and wielding a fresh new language, Vuong writes about the most profound subjects - love and loss, conflict, grief, memory and desire - and attends to them all with lines that feel newly-minted, graceful in their cadences, passionate and hungry in their tender, close attention- '..... continue
Genre

9.

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous : A Novel by Ocean Vuong EN

Rating: 4     15 Votes
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
An instant New York Times Bestseller! Longlisted for the 2019 National Book Award for Fiction, the Carnegie Medal in Fiction, the 2019 Aspen Words Literacy Prize, and the PEN/Hemingway Debut Novel Award Shortlisted for the 2019 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize Winner of the 2019 New England Book Award for Fiction! Named one of the most anticipated books of 2019 by Vulture, Entertainment Weekly, Buzzfeed, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Oprah.com, Huffington Post, The A.V. Club, Nylon, The Week, The Rumpus, The Millions, The Guardian, Publishers Weekly, and more. “A lyrical work of self-di... continue
Genre

10.

Owner of a Lonely Heart : A Memoir by Beth Nguyen EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
From the award-winning author of Stealing Buddha’s Dinner, a powerful memoir of a mother-daughter relationship fragmented by war and resettlement. At the end of the Vietnam War, when Beth Nguyen was eight months old, she and her father, sister, grandmother, and uncles fled Saigon for America. Beth’s mother stayed—or was left—behind, and they did not meet again until Beth was nineteen. Over the course of her adult life, she and her mother have spent less than twenty-four hours together. Owner of a Lonely Heart is a memoir about parenthood, absence, and the condition of being a refugee: the stor... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM VIETNAM BY GENRE

Adventure Biography Cultural Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Magical realism Memoir Poetry Political Religious Spirituality