Vietnam flag Books from Vietnam

35 popular vietnamese books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around Asia Challenge" were written by authors from Vietnam. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

Banyan Moon : A Novel by Thao Thai EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
A sweeping, evocative debut novel following three generations of Vietnamese American women reeling from the death of their matriarch, revealing the family's inherited burdens, buried secrets, and unlikely love stories. When Ann Tran gets the call that her fiercely beloved grandmother, Minh, has passed away, her life is already at a crossroads. In the years since she's last seen Minh, Ann has built a seemingly perfect life--a beautiful lake house, a charming professor boyfriend, and invites to elegant parties that bubble over with champagne and good taste--but it all crumbles with one positive ... continue

2.

Build Your House Around My Body : A Novel by Violet Kupersmith EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Part puzzle, part revenge tale, part ghost story, this ingenious novel spins half a century of Vietnamese history and folklore into “a thrilling read, acrobatic and filled with verve” (The New York Times Editors’ Choice). FINALIST FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION’S FIRST NOVEL PRIZE • LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Times Book Review, NPR, Good Housekeeping, Kirkus Reviews “Fiction as daring and accomplished as Violet Kupersmith’s first novel reignites my love of the form and its kaleidoscopic possibilities.”—David Mitchell, author of Cl... continue

3.

Butterfly Yellow by Thanhhà Lai EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction! Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews! In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texa... continue

4.

Catfish and Mandala : A Two-Wheeled Voyage Through the Landscape and Memory of Vietnam by Andrew X. Pham EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
A collection of memoirs recounting the journey of a Vietnamese-American touring Vietnam and the Pacific rim in search of cultural identity.

5.

Dust Child by Que Mai Phan Nguyen EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
From the internationally bestselling author of The Mountains Sing, a propulsive and moving tale of wartime love, family, and loss, as an American GI, two Vietnamese bargirls, and an Amerasian man are forced to make decisions during and after the Việt Nam War that will reverberate throughout each other’s lives.


7.

Fire Road : The Napalm Girl's Journey Through the Horrors of War to Faith, Forgiveness, and Peace by Kim Phuc Phan Thi, Kim Phúc EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Get out! Run! We must leave this place! They are going to destroy this whole place! Go, children, run first! Go now! These were the final shouts nine year-old Kim Phuc heard before her world dissolved into flames--before napalm bombs fell from the sky, burning away her clothing and searing deep into her skin. It's a moment forever captured, an iconic image that has come to define the horror and violence of the Vietnam War. Kim was left for dead in a morgue; no one expected her to survive the attack. Napalm meant fire, and fire meant death. Against all odds, Kim lived--but her journey toward he... continue

8.

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
No one would believe me but at times I would choose wartime in Saigon over peacetime in Alabama. For all the ten years of her life, HÀ has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, the warmth of her friends close by . . . and the beauty of her very own papaya tree. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. HÀ and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, HÀ discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food, the strange shape of its landscape . . . and the... continue

9.

La mensajera de cristal by Thị Hoài Phạm ES

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
Nacida en 1960, Pham Thi Hoài centra su narrativa en el Vietnam de hoy y, como otros escritores de su generación, no trata ya el tema de la guerra. Es sorprendente su capacidad para comprender el dolor que se esconde tras unas vidas míseras y triviales, y sus reivindicaciones como mujer y como vietnamita hicieron que sus obras resultaran en su país una escándalo inadmisible y tuvieran serios problemas con la censura. Sin embargo, lo más notable en esta autora es su estilo personalísimo, inconfundible, hecho a la vez de ferocidad y ternura, de po... continue

10.
Los Paraísos ciegos

Los Paraísos ciegos by Thu Huong Duong ES

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Vietnam flag Vietnam
Description:
"No mires nunca atrás, ni siquiera el tiempo de un relámpago. Ninguna felicidad podría resistirlo. Cualquier porvenir se deshilacharía". En tiempos de guerra es tal vez inevitable convertir en demonio al enemigo, y la sabiduría de esta novela consiste precisamente en despojarle de esa máscara demoníaca restableciendo su rostro humano. La historia de Huong describe los problemas de gente común y las contradicciones de la reforma política, pero su personalidad, sus alegrías y sufrimientos, sus terribles retos y el ca... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM VIETNAM BY GENRE

Adventure Biography Children's literature Comic Cultural Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Magical realism Memoir Poetry Political Religious Short story Spirituality Travel