Popular African Fantasy Books

Find fantasy books written by authors from Africa for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge. (16)



3.

Herr der Krähen by Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o DE

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Africa / Kenya flag Kenya
Description:
Ngugi wa Thiong'o wurde 1938 als Sohn einer Bauernfamilie in Kamirithu/Limuru in Kenia geboren. 1967 wurde er Dozent für Literatur an der University of Nairobi, wo er bis 1977 lehrte. Wegen seiner kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit dem postkolonialen Kenia und eines regierungskritischen Theaterstücks wurde er 1977 ohne Anklage inhaftiert und erst nach einer Kampagne von Amnesty International ein Jahr später aus dem Gefängnis entlassen. Nachdem sein Leben unter dem Regime von Daniel arap Moi bedroht wurde, ging er 1982 ins Exil nach London. 1989 übersiedelte er in die USA, wo er heute an der Uni... continue

4.

Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Country: Africa / Nigeria flag Nigeria
Description:
An epic West-African inspired YA fantasy from an incredible new talent.

5.

Return to the Enchanted Island by Johary Ravaloson EN

Rating: 2     1 Vote
Country: Africa / Madagascar flag Madagascar
Description:
In this exhilarating prize-winning novel--only the second to be published in English from Madagascar--a young man comes of age amidst the enchanted origin myths of his island country. Named after the first man at the creation of the world in Malagasy mythology, Ietsy Razak was raised to perpetuate the glory of his namesake and expected to be as illuminated as his Great Ancestor. But in the chaos of modernity, his young life is marked only by restlessness, maddening insomnia, and an adolescent apathy. When an unexpected tragedy ships him off to a boarding school in France, his trip to the big c... continue

6.

She Would Be King by Wayétu Moore EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Africa / Liberia flag Liberia
Description:
Wayetu Moore is an inspiration . . . her book is a gift Imbolo Mbue The book is unforgettable . . . irresistibly evocative and fierce. She Would Be King is a masterfully wrought alternate history of magical black resistance Star Tribune This novel dazzles with beauty and transcendent, transformative humanity Sarah Jessica Parker In the west African village of Lai, red-haired Gbessa is cursed at birth and exiled on suspicion of being a witch. Bitten by a viper and left for dead, she survives to discover a new life with a group of African American settlers in the colony of Monrovia. Then Gbessa ... continue

7.

Shubeik Lubeik by Deena Mohamed EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Egypt flag Egypt
Description:
A brilliantly original debut graphic novel that imagines a fantastical alternate Cairo where wishes really do come true. Shubeik Lubeik—a fairy tale rhyme that means “your wish is my command” in Arabic—is the story of three people who are navigating a world where wishes are literally for sale. “The mythic qualities of Mohamed’s world bring our own world into sharper focus . . . Mohamed’s humor often feels like a protest, as do the thick and assertive lines of her drawings . . . The effect is gritty, brazen, and full of spunk.”—The New Yorker Three wishes that are sold at an unassuming kiosk in... continue

8.

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
Outcasts by blood. Warriors by choice. THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER!The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle, Book Riot and Refinery 29. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death.... continue

9.

The Hobbit, Or, There and Back Again by J. R. R. Tolkien EN

Rating: 5     4 Votes
Description:
The stirring adventure that begins The Lord of the Rings, the greatest fantasy epic of all time When Thorin Oakenshield and his band of dwarves embark upon a dangerous quest to reclaim the hoard of gold stolen from them by the evil dragon Smaug, Gandalf the wizard suggests an unlikely accomplice: Bilbo Baggins, an unassuming Hobbit dwelling in peaceful Hobbiton. Along the way, the company faces trolls, goblins, giant spiders, and worse. But as they journey from the wonders of Rivendell to the terrors of Mirkwood and beyond, Bilbo will find that there is more to him than anyone—himself included... continue

10.

The Palm-Wine Drinkard by Amos Tutuola EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Nigeria flag Nigeria
Description:
The ghosts live in the center of the jungle and this tells of what happens to the mortals who venture into the world of the ghosts.