Books set in United States of America (218)


Find more books set in United States of America by genre:
51.

Fiebre Tropical : A Novel by Julián Delgado Lopera EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Winner for the 2021 Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Fiction Winner of the 2021 Ferro-Grumley Literary Award for LGBTQ Fiction Finalist for the 2020 Kirkus Prize for Fiction Lit by the hormonal neon glow of Miami, this debut novel follows a Colombian teenager's coming-of-age as she plunges headfirst into lust and evangelism. Uprooted from her comfortable life in Bogotá, Colombia, into an ant-infested Miami townhouse, fifteen-year-old Francisca is miserable and friendless in her strange new city. Her alienation grows when her mother is swept up into an evangelical church, replete with Christia... continue

52.

Fieldwork in Ukrainian Sex by Oksana Stefanivna Zabuz︠h︡ko EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ukraine flag Ukraine
Description:
Called "the most influential Ukrainian book for the 15 years of independence," Oksana Zabuzhko's Fieldwork in Ukrainian Sex became an international phenomenon when it shot to number one on the Ukrainian bestseller list and remained there throughout the 1990s. The novel is narrated in first-person streams of thought by a sharp-tongued poet with an irreverently honest voice. She is visiting professor of Slavic studies at Harvard and her exposure to American values and behaviors conspires with her yearning to break free from Ukrainian conventions. In her despair over a recently ended affair, she ... continue

53.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk RO

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
Traducere si note de Dan Croitoru Publicat in 1996 si devenit un clasic al literaturii underground, „Fight Club”, debutul lui Chuck Palahniuk, este unanim considerat in momentul de fata drept unul dintre cele mai originale si provocatoare romane scrise in ultimul deceniu al secolului XX. Romanul este povestea unui tinar care traieste intr-o lume plina de esecuri si de minciuni. El isi gaseste debuseul in batai clandestine organizate in subsolurile barurilor dupa ora inchiderii. Nascut din mintea lui Tyler Durden, „Fight Club” reprezinta un mod de evadare din existentel... continue

54.

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
A mentally retarded adult has a brain operation that turns him into a genius.

55.

For Rouenna by Sigrid Nunez EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
In this haunting novel, a friendship springs up between a writer and a retired army nurse who seeks her out decades after their childhood in the same housing project. "For Rouenna" is an unforgettable work about truth, memory, and unexpected heroism by one of the most gifted writers of her generation.

56.

Four Aunties and a Wedding by Jesse Q. Sutanto EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Indonesia flag Indonesia
Description:
The aunties are back, fiercer than ever and ready to handle any catastrophe—even the mafia—in this delightful and hilarious sequel by Jesse Q. Sutanto, author of Dial A for Aunties. Meddy Chan has been to countless weddings, but she never imagined how her own would turn out. Now the day has arrived, and she can't wait to marry her college sweetheart, Nathan. Instead of having Ma and the aunts cater to her wedding, Meddy wants them to enjoy the day as guests. As a compromise, they find the perfect wedding vendors: a Chinese-Indonesian family-run company just like theirs. Meddy is hesitant at fi... continue

57.

Freshman Year (A Graphic Novel) by Sarah Mai EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A stylish graphic novel about the unique angst, humor, and self-doubt that comes with going away to college—perfect for fans of Heartstopper. Everyone gets a fresh start. Who do you want to be? Sarah is leaving suburban Wisconsin for college n Minnesota. She has high hopes for the future: impress her professors, meet interesting new people, stay close to her best friends and boyfriend back home, flourish as an artist, and shed her lingering high school anxieties. What seems manageable at first quickly unravels into a tailspin and she is overwhelmed by the freedom, the isolation, and all the po... continue

58.

Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America by Firoozeh Dumas EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / Iran flag Iran
Description:
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Finalist for the PEN/USA Award in Creative Nonfiction, the Thurber Prize for American Humor, and the Audie Award in Biography/Memoir This Random House Reader’s Circle edition includes a reading group guide and a conversation between Firoozeh Dumas and Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner! “Remarkable . . . told with wry humor shorn of sentimentality . . . In the end, what sticks with the reader is an exuberant immigrant embrace of America.”—San Francisco Chronicle In 1972, when she was seven, Firoozeh Dumas and her family moved from Iran to Southern California... continue

59.

Girl at War : A Novel by Sara Nović EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Country: Europe / Croatia flag Croatia
Description:
When her happy life in 1991 Croatia is shattered by civil war, ten-year-old Ana Juric is embroiled in a world of guerilla warfare and child soldiers. She makes a daring escape to America where, years later, she struggles to hide her past.

60.

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
Emigrating with her mother from Hong Kong to Brooklyn, Kimberly Chang begins a secret double life as an exceptional schoolgirl during the day and sweatshop worker at night, an existence also marked by a first crush and the pressure to save her family from poverty. A first novel.