Books set in United States of America (330)


Find more books set in United States of America by genre:
11.

American Love Story : A Multicultural Romance by Adriana Herrera EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
WINNER OF A 2019 RIPPED BODICE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN ROMANCE “Herrera serves up high heat, serious social commentary, and laughs in perfect measure.” —Book Riot No one should have to choose between love and justice Haitian-born professor and activist Patrice Denis is not here for anything that will veer him off the path he’s worked so hard for. One particularly dangerous distraction: Easton Archer. The Assistant District Attorney who last summer gave Patrice some of the most intense nights of his life, and still makes him all but forget they’re from two completely different worlds. All-aroun... continue

12.

American Street by Ibi Zoboi EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews! A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immi... continue

13.

And the Mountains Echoed : A Novel by Khaled Hosseini EN

Rating: 4 (19 votes)
Country: Asia / Afghanistan flag Afghanistan
Description:
An unforgettable novel about finding a lost piece of yourself in someone else. Khaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations. In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, Hosseini explores the many ways in which families nurture, wound, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another; and how often we are surprised by the actions of those clo... continue

14.

Anomalie by Hervé Le Tellier NL

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Als een verloren gewaand vliegtuig na maanden alsnog in New York arriveert, zijn alle passagiers en bemanningsleden verdubbeld.


16.

Appalachian Elegy : Poetry and Place by Bell Hooks EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A collection of poems centered around life in Appalachia addresses topics ranging from the marginalization of the region's people to the environmental degradation it has endured throughout history.

17.

Are Prisons Obsolete? by Angela Y. Davis EN

0 Ratings
Description:
With her characteristic brilliance, grace and radical audacity, Angela Y. Davis has put the case for the latest abolition movement in American life: the abolition of the prison. As she quite correctly notes, American life is replete with abolition movements, and when they were engaged in these struggles, their chances of success seemed almost unthinkable. For generations of Americans, the abolition of slavery was sheerest illusion. Similarly,the entrenched system of racial segregation seemed to last forever, and generations lived in the midst of the practice, with few predicting its passage fr... continue

18.

Back in a Spell by Lana Harper EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Serbia flag Serbia
Description:
An awkward first date leads to a sparkling romance between one of the most powerful witches in town and a magical newbie in this rom-com by Lana Harper, New York Times bestselling author of Payback’s a Witch. Even though she won’t deny her love for pretty (and pricey) things, Nineve Blackmoore is almost painfully down-to-earth and sensible by Blackmoore standards. But after a year of nursing a broken heart inflicted by the fiancée who all but ditched her at the altar, the powerful witch is sick of feeling low and is ready to try something drastically different: a dating app. At her best friend... continue


20.

Beach Read by Emily Henry EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF PEOPLE WE MEET ON VACATION AND BOOK LOVERS! A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters. Augustus Everett is an acclaimed author of literary fiction. January Andrews writes bestselling romance. When she pens a happily ever after, he kills off his entire cast. They’re polar opposites. In fact, the only thing they have in common is that for the next three months, they're living in neighboring beach houses... continue