Haiti flag Books from Haiti

24 popular haitian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around North America Challenge" were written by authors from Haiti. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.
¿Cric? crac!

¿Cric? crac! by Edwidge Danticat ES

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Description:
¿Cric? ¡Crac! es una recopilación de nueve cuentos en los que se explora la manera como los recuerdos son transmitidos de generación en generación, para conservar el patrimonio cultural de un pueblo atormentado. En un Haití asolado por la violencia se desarrollan los primeros siete relatos, marcados por la muerte, el sufrimiento y el valor de las mujeres que parecen impotentes ante el terrorismo arrasador de los regímenes dictatoriales. Sin embargo, en ¿Cric? ¡Crac! el amor surge como una luz esperanzadora que le permitirá a ... continue

2.

American Street by Ibi Zoboi EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews! A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immi... continue


4.

Blue : A Novel by Emmelie Prophète EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Description:
An award-winning Haitian novel about silence, beauty, and the solidarity of tears. Airports are distillations of the world. I like thinking of them that way. The hope of leaving and the desire to come home, existing side by side. Any voyage is possible. My mind flies off toward the blue province once again. I don't know, anymore, why I always associate it with blue. It isn't even my favorite color. Traveling alone from Miami to Port-au-Prince, our narrator finds comfort at the airport. She feels free to ponder the silence that surrounds her homeland, her mother, her aunts, and her own inner th... continue



7.

Claire of the Sea Light by Edwidge Danticat EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Description:
"The interconnected secrets of a coastal Haitian town are revealed when one little girl, the daughter of a fisherman, goes missing"--

8.

Clerise of Haiti by Marie-Therese Labossiere Thomas EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A young domestic worker devoted to her prominent urban employers in Les Cayes, Haiti, Clerise progressively renounces the traditional values of her rural background. When she later marries and opens a small business, class conflicts and divided loyalties develop amid the terror of the Duvalier regime, and she is ultimately caught in the escalation of violence. Clerise of Haiti is a story of three generations of Haitian women, and covers a thirty year span ending in the late 1970s. Full of humor and resilience, Clerise's unique perspective into the upper classes and the world of the poor explor... continue
Genre

9.

Create Dangerously: The Immigrant Artist at Work by Edwidge Danticat EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A New York Times Notable Book A Miami Herald Best Book of the Year In this deeply personal book, the celebrated Haitian-American writer Edwidge Danticat reflects on art and exile. Inspired by Albert Camus and adapted from her own lectures for Princeton University’s Toni Morrison Lecture Series, here Danticat tells stories of artists who create despite (or because of) the horrors that drove them from their homelands. Combining memoir and essay, these moving and eloquent pieces examine what it means to be an artist from a country in crisis. BONUS MATERIAL: This edition includes an excerpt from E... continue



FIND BOOKS FROM HAITI BY GENRE

Adult Biography Contemporary fiction Cultural Essay Fantasy Historical Historical fiction Horror Memoir Poetry Political Romance Short story Young Adult