Argentina flag Books from Argentina

70 popular argentinian books
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the "Read Around South America Challenge" were written by authors from Argentina. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

21.

Forgotten Journey by Silvina Ocampo EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Delicately crafted, intensely visual, deeply personal stories explore the nature of memory, family ties, and the difficult imbalances of love.

22.

Furia by Yamile Saied Méndez EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Description:
A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK Recipient of the 2021 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Medal One of BuzzFeed's Must-Read YA Books of 2020 A Best Book of the Year: Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * SheReads * New York Public Library “An engrossing #OwnVoices novel.” —PopSugar “This book will set your dreams on fire . . . It’s fabulous.” — Reese Witherspoon A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams... continue

23.

Green Mansions by W. H. Hudson EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
Abel, a young European, falls in love with Rima, a lovely and mysterious girl of the jungle, and the two travel through dense South American jungles and arid grasslands to Rima's distant homeland

24.

Heartbreak Tango by Manuel Puig EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Awash in small-town gossip, petty jealousy, and intrigues, Manuel Puig's Heartbreak Tango is a comedic assault on the fault lines between the disappointments of the everyday world, and the impossible promises of commercials, pop songs, and movies. This melancholy and hilarious tango concerns the many women in orbit around Juan Carlos Etchepare, an impossibly beautiful Lothario wasting away ever-so-slowly from consumption, while those who loved and were spurned by him move on into workaday lives and unhappy marriages. Part elegy, part melodrama, and part dirty joke, this wicked and charming nov... continue

25.

Het literatuurcongres : roman by César Aira NL

0 Ratings
Description:
César is een schrijver die door de wereldwijde economische malaise in financieel zwaar weer verkeert, daarnaast is hij ook nog eens een vermaard wetenschapper die vastbesloten is om heerser van de wereld te worden. Tijdens een bezoek aan het strand lost hij intuïtief een eeuwenoud raadsel op, vindt een piratenschat en wordt een zeer rijk man. Toch blijft zijn droom van wereldheerschappij op de eerste plaats staan. Hij woont een literatuurcongres bij om dicht bij de wereldberoemde Mexicaanse auteur Carlos Fuentes te komen, met hulp van wiens kloon hij hoopt zijn leger naar de overwinning te lei... continue

26.

Hopscotch by Julio Cortazar EN

Rating: 4     4 Votes
Description:
Julio Cortazar's crazed masterpiece, the forbearer of the Latin Boom in the 1960s - published in Vintage Classics for the first time 'Cortazar's masterpiece. This is the first great novel of Spanish America... A powerful anti-novel but, like deeply understood moments in life itself, rich with many kinds of potential meanings and intimations' Times Literary Supplement Dazed by the disappearance of his muse, Argentinian writer Horatio Oliveira wanders the bridges of Paris, the sounds of jazz and the talk of literature, life and art echoing around him. But a chance encounter with a literary idol ... continue

27.

Imminence by Mariana Dimópulos EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
We're alone together, for the first time. I have to touch him now. I try stroking a foot, then a shoulder. But no current lifts in me, nothing pulls at my chest they way they said it would. A new mother holds her month-old son for the first time, but her body betrays her. Disoriented, she trails her taciturn partner around their plant-filled Buenos Aires apartment. Little by little, everything begins to unravel. Taking place over the course of an evening, Mariana Dímopulos's mesmerising novella shifts seamlessly between the present and the past. In this dreamlike space, made from overlapping v... continue

28.

Kalpa Imperial : The Greatest Empire that Never was by Angélica Gorodischer EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Description:
This is the first of Argentinean writer Angelica Gorodischer's nineteen award-winning books to be translated into English. In eleven chapters, Kalpa Imperial's multiple storytellers relate the story of a fabled nameless empire which has risen and fallen innumerable times. Fairy tales, oral histories and political commentaries are all woven tapestry-style into Kalpa Imperial: beggars become emperors, democracies become dictatorships, and history becomes legends and stories. But this is much more than a simple political allegory or fable. It is also a celebration of the power of storytelling. Go... continue

29.

Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
In 1976, a young boy flees Buenos Aires with his opposition-supporting family, renames himself after his hero Harry Houdini, and dedicates his time in exile to mastering his role model's escape artistry.

30.

Kill the Next One by Federico Axat EN

0 Ratings
Description:
An audacious psychological thriller where nothing is what it seems. Ted McKay had it all: a beautiful wife, two daughters, a high-paying job. But after being diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor he finds himself with a gun to his temple, ready to pull the trigger. Then the doorbell rings. A stranger makes him a proposition: why not kill two deserving men before dying? The first target is a criminal, and the second is a man with terminal cancer who, like Ted, wants to die. After executing these kills, Ted will become someone else's next target, like a kind of suicidal daisy chain. Ted understa... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM ARGENTINA BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Comic Crime Cultural Dyspotia Fantasy Feminism Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Humor Magical realism Memoir Mystery Philosophical Political Psychology Romance Science fiction Short story Thriller Young Adult