Malaysia flag Books from Malaysia

Recommended books (5)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. The target of the Read Around The World Challenge is to read at least one book written by an author from each and every country in the world. All books that are listed here as part of the Read Around Asia Challenge were written by authors from malaysia. Find a great book for the next part of your reading journey around the world from this book list. The following popular books have been recommended so far.

1.

The Face by Tash Aw EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Malaysia flag Malaysia
Description:
From the the award-winning author of Five Star Billionaire and The Harmony Silk Factory comes a whirlwind personal history of modern Asia, as told through his Malaysian and Chinese heritage. In The Face: Strangers on a Pier, acclaimed author Tash Aw explores the panoramic cultural vitality of modern Asia through his own complicated family story of migration and adaptation, which is reflected in his own face. From a taxi ride in present-day Bangkok, to eating Kentucky Fried Chicken in 1980s Kuala Lumpur, to his grandfathers’ treacherous boat journeys to Malaysia from mainland China in the 1920s... continue
Recommended: 10 Feb 2018

2.
The Harmony Silk Factory

The Harmony Silk Factory by Tash Aw EN

Rating: 3     3 Votes
Country: Asia / Malaysia flag Malaysia
Description:
Joseph Conrad, W. Somerset Maugham, and Anthony Burgess have shaped our perceptions of Malaysia. In Tash Aw, we now have an authentic Malaysian voice that remaps this literary landscape. The Harmony Silk Factory traces the story of textile merchant Johnny Lim, a Chinese peasant living in British Malaya in the first half of the twentieth century. Johnny's factory is the most impressive structure in the region, and to the inhabitants of the Kinta Valley Johnny is a hero—a Communist who fought the Japanese when they invaded, ready to sacrifice his life for the welfare of his people. But to his so... continue
Recommended: 18 Nov 2022

3.

The Night Tiger : A Novel by Yangsze Choo EN

Rating: 4     21 Votes
Country: Asia / Malaysia flag Malaysia
Description:
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world.” —Kirkus (starred review) An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longin... continue
Genre
Recommended: 25 May 2022

4.

The Rice Mother by Rani Manicka EN

Rating: 4     10 Votes
Country: Asia / Malaysia flag Malaysia
Description:
At the age of fourteen, Lakshmi leaves behind her childhood among the mango trees of Ceylon for married life across the ocean in Malaysia, and soon finds herself struggling to raise a family in a country that is, by turns, unyielding and amazing, brutal and beautiful. Giving birth to a child every year until she is nineteen, Lakshmi becomes a formidable matriarch, determined to secure a better life for her daughters and sons. From the Japanese occupation during World War II to the torture of watching some of her children succumb to life’s most terrible temptations, she rises to face every new ... continue
Recommended: 20 Apr 2022

5.

The Weight of Our Sky by Hanna Alkaf EN

Rating: 3.5     2 Votes
Country: Asia / Malaysia flag Malaysia
Description:
A music loving teen with OCD does everything she can to find her way back to her mother during the historic race riots in 1969 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in this heart-pounding, “stunning” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) debut. Melati Ahmad looks like your typical movie-going, Beatles-obsessed sixteen-year-old. Unlike most other sixteen-year-olds though, Mel also believes that she harbors a djinn inside her, one who threatens her with horrific images of her mother’s death unless she adheres to an elaborate ritual of counting and tapping to keep him satisfied. A trip to the movies after school... continue


FIND BOOKS FROM MALAYSIA BY GENRE

Biography Historical Historical fiction

FIND BOOKS FROM MALAYSIA BY LANGUAGE

English

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto | FAQ | Documentation | World map