Books set in United States of America (369)


Find more books set in United States of America by genre:
91.

Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Description:
A mentally retarded adult has a brain operation that turns him into a genius.

92.

Fool Me Once by Harlan Coben EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
Horrified when she spots her husband--who was reported dead weeks earlier--playing with their toddler on her nanny cam, former special ops pilot Maya confronts deep secrets and deceit in her own past in order to discern the truth.

93.

For Rouenna by Sigrid Nunez EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
In this haunting novel, a friendship springs up between a writer and a retired army nurse who seeks her out decades after their childhood in the same housing project. "For Rouenna" is an unforgettable work about truth, memory, and unexpected heroism by one of the most gifted writers of her generation.

94.

Four Aunties and a Wedding by Jesse Q. Sutanto EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / Indonesia flag Indonesia
Description:
The aunties are back, fiercer than ever and ready to handle any catastrophe—even the mafia—in this delightful and hilarious sequel by Jesse Q. Sutanto, author of Dial A for Aunties. Meddy Chan has been to countless weddings, but she never imagined how her own would turn out. Now the day has arrived, and she can't wait to marry her college sweetheart, Nathan. Instead of having Ma and the aunts cater to her wedding, Meddy wants them to enjoy the day as guests. As a compromise, they find the perfect wedding vendors: a Chinese-Indonesian family-run company just like theirs. Meddy is hesitant at fi... continue

95.

Freshman Year (A Graphic Novel) by Sarah Mai EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A stylish graphic novel about the unique angst, humor, and self-doubt that comes with going away to college—perfect for fans of Heartstopper. Everyone gets a fresh start. Who do you want to be? Sarah is leaving suburban Wisconsin for college n Minnesota. She has high hopes for the future: impress her professors, meet interesting new people, stay close to her best friends and boyfriend back home, flourish as an artist, and shed her lingering high school anxieties. What seems manageable at first quickly unravels into a tailspin and she is overwhelmed by the freedom, the isolation, and all the po... continue

96.

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Description:
Mrs. Threadgoode's tale of two high-spirited women of the 1930s, Idgie and Ruth, helps Evelyn, a 1980s woman in a sad slump of middle age, to begin to rejuvenate her own life.

97.

Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America by Firoozeh Dumas EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / Iran flag Iran
Description:
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Finalist for the PEN/USA Award in Creative Nonfiction, the Thurber Prize for American Humor, and the Audie Award in Biography/Memoir This Random House Reader’s Circle edition includes a reading group guide and a conversation between Firoozeh Dumas and Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner! “Remarkable . . . told with wry humor shorn of sentimentality . . . In the end, what sticks with the reader is an exuberant immigrant embrace of America.”—San Francisco Chronicle In 1972, when she was seven, Firoozeh Dumas and her family moved from Iran to Southern California... continue

98.

Girl at War : A Novel by Sara Nović EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Europe / Croatia flag Croatia
Description:
When her happy life in 1991 Croatia is shattered by civil war, ten-year-old Ana Juric is embroiled in a world of guerilla warfare and child soldiers. She makes a daring escape to America where, years later, she struggles to hide her past.

99.

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok EN

Rating: 5 (2 votes)
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
Emigrating with her mother from Hong Kong to Brooklyn, Kimberly Chang begins a secret double life as an exceptional schoolgirl during the day and sweatshop worker at night, an existence also marked by a first crush and the pressure to save her family from poverty. A first novel.

100.

Going Dark : The Secret Social Lives of Extremists by Julia Ebner EN

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Austria flag Austria
Description:
By day, Julia Ebner works at a counter-extremism think tank, monitoring radical groups from the outside, but two years ago, she began to feel that she was only seeing half the picture. She needed to get inside the groups to truly understand them. So she decided to go undercover in her spare hours - late nights, holidays, weekends - adopting five different identities, and joining a dozen extremist groups from across the ideological spectrum. Her journey would take her from a Generation Identity global strategy meeting in a pub in Mayfair, to a Neo-Nazi Music Festival on the border of Germany an... continue