Netherlands flag Psychology books from Netherlands

Recommended psychology books (5)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. If you are into psychology here are some psychology books from Netherlands for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge.

1.

Extinction by Thomas Bernhard EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
LRB BOOKSHOP'S AUTHOR OF THE MONTH ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S BEST BOOKS OF 2019WITH A NEW AFTERWORD BY GEOFF DYER'If you haven't read Bernhard, you will not know of the most radical advance in fiction since Joyce ... My advice: dive in.' Lucy Ellmann'I absolutely love Bernhard: he is one of the darkest and funniest writers ... A must read for everybody.' Karl Ove KnausgaardFranz-Josef Murau is the intellectual black sheep of a powerful Austrian land-owning family. He now lives in Rome in self-imposed exile, surrounded by a coterie of artistic and intellectual friends. On returning from his sister'... continue


3.

The Body Keeps the Score : Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma by Bessel van der Kolk, M.D. EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
A pioneering researcher and one of the world’s foremost experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for healing Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Such experiences inevitably leave traces on minds, emotions, and even on biology. Sadly, trauma sufferers frequently pass on their stress to their partners and children. Renowned trauma expert Bessel van der Kolk has spent over three decades work... continue

4.

We Had to Remove This Post by Hanna Bervoets EN

Rating: 3 (5 votes)
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
For readers of Leila Slimani's The Perfect Nanny or Ling Ma's Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star about a group of young colleagues working as social media content monitors--reviewers of violent or illegal videos for an unnamed megacorporation--who convince themselves they're in control . . . until the violence strikes closer to home. Kayleigh needs money. That's why she takes a job as a content moderator for a social media platform whose name she isn't allowed to mention. Her job: reviewing offensive videos and pictures, rants and conspiracy theories,... continue

5.

What I'd Rather Not Think About by Jente Posthuma EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
What if one half of a pair of twins no longer wants to live? What if the other can't live without them? This question lies at the heart of Jente Posthuma's deceptively simple What I'd Rather Not Think About. The narrator is a twin whose brother has recently taken his own life. She looks back on their childhood, and tells of their adult lives: how her brother tried to find happiness, but lost himself in various men and the Bhagwan movement, though never completely. In brief, precise vignettes, full of gentle melancholy and surprising humour, Posthuma tells the story of a depressive brother, vie... continue