Fantasy genre books (55)


1.

Aru Shah and the City of Gold by Roshani Chokshi EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Recommended: 16 Feb 2022
2.

Catching Teller Crow by Ambelin Kwaymullina, Ezekiel Kwaymullina EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
An extraordinary thriller, told from the perspective of two Aboriginal protagonists, which weaves together themes of grief, colonial history, violence, love and family. Nothing's been the same for Beth Teller since she died. Her dad, a detective, is the only one who can see and hear her, and he's drowning in grief. Only a suspected murder, and a mystery to solve, might save them both. And they have a potential witness: Isobel Catching. Aboriginal by birth, like Beth, she seems lost and isolated in the world. But as the two get closer, Isobel's strange tale of glass-eyed monsters and stolen col... continue
Recommended: 07 Mar 2022
3.

Children of the Cave by Virve Sammalkorpi EN

Rating: 3     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Finland flag Finland
Recommended: 31 Dec 2019
4.

Eartheater by Dolores Reyes ES

Rating: 4.3     3 Votes
Description:
Electrifying and provocative, visceral and profound, a powerful literary debut novel about a young woman whose compulsion to eat earth gives her visions of murdered and missing people--an imaginative synthesis of mystery and magical realism that explores the dark tragedies of ordinary lives. Set in an unnamed slum in contemporary Argentina, Earth-eater is the story of a young woman who finds herself drawn to eating the earth--a compulsion that gives her visions of broken and lost lives. With her first taste of dirt, she learns the horrifying truth of her mother's death. Disturbed by what she w... continue
Recommended: 11 Sep 2022
5.

Fever Dream by Samanta Scweblin EN

Rating: 3.5     28 Votes
Description:
NOW A FEATURE FILM COMING SOON TO NETFLIX "Genius." —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker Finalist for the Man Booker International Prize! Experience the blazing, surreal sensation of a fever dream... A young woman named Amanda lies dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. She’s not his mother. He's not her child. Together, they tell a haunting story of broken souls, toxins, and the power and desperation of family. Fever Dream is a nightmare come to life, a ghost story for the real world, a love story and a cautionary tale. One of the freshest new voices to come out of the... continue
Recommended: 15 Sep 2019
6.

Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie EN

Rating: 4     46 Votes
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
It all begins with a letter. Fall in love with Penguin Drop Caps, a new series of twenty-six collectible and hardcover editions, each with a type cover showcasing a gorgeously illustrated letter of the alphabet. In a design collaboration between Jessica Hische and Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, the series features unique cover art by Hische, a superstar in the world of type design and illustration, whose work has appeared everywhere from Tiffany & Co. to Wes Anderson's recent film Moonrise Kingdom to Penguin's own bestsellers Committed and Rules of Civility. With exclusive designs that hav... continue
Recommended: 01 Jul 2022
7.

HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt EN

Rating: 3.5     24 Votes
Country: Europe / Netherlands flag Netherlands
Description:
"Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth-century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Muzzled, she walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children's beds for nights on end. Everybody knows that her eyes may never be opened or the consequences will be too terrible to bear. The elders of Black Spring have virtually quarantined the town by using high-tech surveillance to prevent their curse from spreading. Frustrated by being kept in lockdown, the town's teenagers, decide to break their stric... continue
8.

Himself by Jess Kidd EN

Rating: 4     16 Votes
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Choice Shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards 2016Shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award 2017Longlisted for the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 20171950. A teenage girl is brutally murdered in a forest. But, somehow, her baby survives.1976. A mysterious and charming young man returns to the remote coastal village of Mulderrig, seeking answers about the mother who, it was said, had abandoned him on the steps of a Dublin orphanage.With the help of its oldest and most eccentric inhabitant, he will force the village to give up its ghosts. Nothing, not even ... continue
Recommended: 03 Mar 2018
9.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff EN

Rating: 4.5     78 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series. “Never have I read a book so wholly unique and utterly captivating.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and E... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022
10.

Incendiary by Zoraida Córdova EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Description:
Renata was only a child when she was kidnapped by the crown. As a memory thief, the rarest and most feared of the magical Moria, she was used by the crown to carry out the King's Wrath, a siege that resulted in the deaths of thousands of her own people. Now Renata is one of the Whispers, a rebel spy working against the crown. When Dez, her commander -- and the boy she's grown to love -- is taken captive by the notorious Principe Dorado, Renata must return to the palace and complete his top-secret mission herself. Can she keep her cover, even as she burns for vengeance against the brutal, enigm... continue
Recommended: 01 Jan 2021

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto