Science fiction genre books (20)


1.

Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi EN

Rating: 4.1     19 Votes
Country: Asia / Japan flag Japan
Description:
*OVER ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD* *NOW AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER* If you could go back, who would you want to meet? In a small back alley of Tokyo, there is a café that has been serving carefully brewed coffee for more than one hundred years. Local legend says that this shop offers something else besides coffee—the chance to travel back in time. Over the course of one summer, four customers visit the café in the hopes of making that journey. But time travel isn’t so simple, and there are rules that must be followed. Most important, the trip can last only as long as it takes for the coffee to ge... continue
Recommended: 26 Sep 2019
2.

Central Station by Lavie Tidhar EN

Rating: 4     11 Votes
Country: Asia / Israel flag Israel
Description:
An NPR Best Book of 2016 An Amazon Featured Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Book A Guardian Best SF & Fantasy Book of 2016 Longlist, British Science Fiction Award 2016, Best Novel 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award nominee "It's all of science fiction distilled into a single book." —Warren Ellis, author of Transmetropolitan and Gun Machine A worldwide diaspora has left a quarter of a million people at the foot of a space station. Cultures collide in real life and virtual reality. The city is literally a weed, its growth left unchecked. Life is cheap, and data is cheaper. When Boris Chong returns to Te... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022
3.

Fever Dream by Samanta Scweblin EN

Rating: 3.5     28 Votes
Description:
NOW A FEATURE FILM COMING SOON TO NETFLIX "Genius." —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker Finalist for the Man Booker International Prize! Experience the blazing, surreal sensation of a fever dream... A young woman named Amanda lies dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. She’s not his mother. He's not her child. Together, they tell a haunting story of broken souls, toxins, and the power and desperation of family. Fever Dream is a nightmare come to life, a ghost story for the real world, a love story and a cautionary tale. One of the freshest new voices to come out of the... continue
Recommended: 15 Sep 2019
4.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff EN

Rating: 4.5     78 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series. “Never have I read a book so wholly unique and utterly captivating.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and E... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022
5.

Jagannath : (stories) by Karin Tidbeck EN

Rating: 4     16 Votes
Country: Europe / Sweden flag Sweden
Description:
I have never read anything like Jagannath. Karin Tidbeck s imagination is recognizably Nordic, but otherwise unclassifiable quietly, intelligently, unutterably strange. And various. And ominous. And funny. And mysteriously tender. These are wonderful stories. Ursula K. Le Guin Restrained and vivid, poised and strange, Tidbeck, with her impossible harmonies, is a vital voice. China Mieville Enter the strange and wonderful world of Swedish sensation Karin Tidbeck with this feast of darkly fantastical short stories. Whether through the falsified historical record of the uniquely weird Swedish cre... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022
6.

Journey To The Center Of The Earth by Jules Verne EN

Rating: 5     3 Votes
Country: Europe / France flag France
Description:
Follows Professor Hardwigg, his nephew Harry, and their guide Hans as they venture deep into a volcanic crater in Iceland on a journey that leads them to the center of the Earth and to incredible and horrifying discoveries. Reissue.
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022
7.

Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell EN

Rating: 4     571 Votes
Description:
George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four is unquestionably the most famous dystopian novel of all times. Written in the year of 1948, the author swapped the last two digits while describing a future totalitarian society where the minds, attitudes and actions of the subjects are thoroughly scrutinized by the "Thought Police", suspected dissidents tracked down and where the worship of the mythical party leader Big Brother is forced upon the masses. The low-ranking party member Winston Smith begins secretly to question the whole system and initiates a forbidden love affair with another party member.
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022
8.

On the Beach by Nevil Shute EN

Rating: 4     65 Votes
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
After the war is over, a radioactive cloud begins to sweep southwards on the winds, gradually poisoning everything in its path. An American submarine captain is among the survivors left sheltering in Australia, preparing with the locals for the inevitable. Despite his memories of his wife, he becomes close to a young woman struggling to accept the harsh realities of their situation. Then a faint Morse code signal is picked up, transmitting from the United States and the submarine must set sail through the bleak ocean to search for signs of life. On the Beach is Nevil Shute's most powerful nove... continue
Recommended: 14 Sep 2022
9.

Solaris by Stanisław Lem EN

Rating: 3.5     59 Votes
Country: Europe / Poland flag Poland
Description:
The first of Lem’s novels to be published in americanca and still the best known. A scientist examining the ocean that covers the surface of the planet Solaris is forced to confront the incarnation of a painful, hitherto unconscious memory, inexplicably created by the ocean. An undisputed SF classic. Translated by Joanna Kilmartin and Steve Cox.
Recommended: 06 Mar 2022
10.
Tales of Pirx the Pilot

Tales of Pirx the Pilot by Stanislaw Lem EN

Rating: 4     1 Vote
Country: Europe / Poland flag Poland
Description:
From 'A giant of twentieth-century science fiction' (Guardian), the adventures of Pirx, a hapless everyman in outer space 'By now he fancied himself something of a rocket jockey, a space ace, whose real home was among the planets' In a future where space travel has become routine and unremarkable, Pirx the pilot bumbles and daydreams his way through the solar system. These endearing tales follow his progress from cadet to captain. But, whether he is wrestling with a misbehaving spacesuit, feeling uncomfortable on a luxury space cruise ship or encountering a mysterious malfunctioning robot on a... continue
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto