China flag Mystery books from China

Recommended mystery books (5)
Travel the world without leaving your chair. If you are into mystery here are some mystery books from China for the next part of the Read Around The World Challenge.

1.

Death of a Red Heroine by Xiaolong Qiu EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
In this Anthony Award-winning debut, Inspector Chen of the Shanghai Police must find the murderer of a National Model worker, and then risk his own life and career to see that justice is done. "A Loyal Character Dancer "is the latest in Qiu's Shanghai series featuring Inspector Chen. "A marvelously assured debut. . . . Engrossing, immensely readable."-"The Wall Street Journal"

2.

Searching for Sylvie Lee by Jean Kwok EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2019 BY Marie Claire • Nylon • Huffington Post • CrimeReads • Bookbub • Book Riot • Debutante Ball “Like all most compelling mysteries, Jean Kwok’s Searching for Sylvie Lee has a powerful emotional drama at its heart. A twisting tale of love, loss and dark family secrets.” — Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train and Into the Water A poignant and suspenseful drama that untangles the complicated ties binding three women—two sisters and their mother—in one Chinese immigrant family and explores what happens when the eldest dau... continue

3.

The Leftover Woman : A Novel by Jean Kwok EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
"At once a hugely atmospheric and suspenseful mystery and a compelling exploration of motherhood and belonging that packs a profound emotional punch. I couldn't stop thinking about this book." -- Lucy Foley, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Apartment An evocative family drama and a riveting mystery about the ferocious pull of motherhood for two very different women--from the New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee and Girl in Translation. Jasmine Yang arrives in New York City from her rural Chinese village without money or family support, fleeing a contro... continue

4.

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
An Instant New York Times Bestseller! A BuzzFeed Best Young Adult Book of 2020 Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Serpent & Dove, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Sc... continue

5.

Yellowface : A Novel by R. F. Kuang EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / China flag China
Description:
So what if June edits Athena's novel and sends it to her agent as her own work? Doesn't this piece of history deserve to be told, whoever the teller? That's what June claims, and the New York Times bestseller list seems to agree. But June can't get away from Athena's shadow, and emerging evidence threatens to bring June's (stolen) success down around her