Read Around North America Challenge

The Great Gatsby
Most Popular Book
Rating: 3     6 Votes

  • Part of the "Read Around The World Challenge"
  • Join book lovers like you from all over the world who want to read at least one book written by an author from each of the 23 countries in North America.
  • Track your reading progress on a world map which is automatically created for you
  • Leave your reading comfort zone and expand your reading horizon.
  • Make 2022 the year you:
    • will read more books,
    • discover new authors,
    • learn more about North America.
  • Register to join the " Read Around North America Challenge"

23 countries in North America means 23 books to read for this challenge
Reading progress by all challenge participants
5%
95%

Read Around North America Challenge

Read at least one book by an author from each country in North America.

Register to join the "Read Around North America Challenge"

Girl reading Read Around The World Challenge book
Recommended Challenge Books (108)
1.

Lucy : A Novel by Jamaica Kincaid EN

Rating: 3     4 Votes
Description:
Lucy, a teenage girl from the West Indies, comes to America to work as an au pair for a wealthy couple. She begins to notice cracks in their beautiful façade at the same time that the mysteries of own sexuality begin to unravel. Jamaica Kincaid has created a startling new heroine who is destined to win a place of honor in contemporary fiction.
Genre
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

2.

The Autobiography of My Mother by Jamaica Kincaid EN

Rating: 2.5     13 Votes
Description:
After her mother dies at birth, Xuela is left by her father with his laundress for the next seven years in a home where she feels no love or affection, so when she moves in with her father's friends, the LaBattes, she finds pleasure however she can. Reprint.
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

3.

An Evening in Guanima : A Treasury of Folktales from the Bahamas by Patricia Glinton-Meicholas EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Recommended: 10 Mar 2022

4.

Woman Take Two by Telcine Turner EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
A three-act play that deals with love and greed. Set in The Bahamas, it tells the tale of a few people forging alliances for themselves - for love and/or money. Suspenseful and intriguing, it provides a glimpse into the darker side of the human character.
Recommended: 10 Mar 2022

5.

Learning to Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather EN

Rating: 5     1 Vote
Description:
A 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection Amelia Bloomer List’s 2019 Top Ten Recommended Feminist Books for Young Readers A Governor General’s Literary Award Finalist A Junior Library Guild Selection A Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize Semifinalist A BC Book Prize Finalist “A love letter to girls—bittersweet and full of hope.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street “This is a stellar debut.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe “A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one’s family.” —Stephanie ... continue
Recommended: 10 Mar 2022

6.

Climbing Clouds : Stories and Poems from the Bahamas by Telcine Turner EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A collection of short stories and poems, most of which have been written by college students.
Genre
Recommended: 10 Mar 2022

7.

Washington Black : A Novel by Esi Edugyan EN

Rating: 4     64 Votes
Description:
Winner of the 2018 Scotiabank Giller Prize A dazzling, original novel of slavery and freedom, from the author of the international bestseller Half-Blood Blues When two English brothers arrive at a Barbados sugar plantation, they bring with them a darkness beyond what the slaves have already known. Washington Black – an eleven year-old field slave – is horrified to find himself chosen to live in the quarters of one of these men. But the man is not as Washington expects him to be. His new master is the eccentric Christopher Wilde – naturalist, explorer, inventor and abolitionist – whose obsessio... continue
Genre
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

8.

Flickering Shadows : A Novel by Kwadwo Agymah Kamau EN

0 Ratings
Description:
Offers a portrait of village life on a Caribbean island, where love and honor are complicated by political manipulation and religious corruption
Genre
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022

9.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House : A Novel by Cherie Jones EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A debut novel in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, from a brilliant Caribbean writer, set in Barbados, about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise." In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneyed ex-pats clash with the locals who often end up serving them: braiding their hair, minding their children, and selling them drugs. Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the Baxter Beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was m... continue
Recommended: 09 Apr 2022

10.

Beka Lamb : by Zee Edgell EN

Rating: 3     4 Votes
Description:
Subtle yet rich descriptions of culture, society, and family life in Belize adorn Zee Edgell’s beautifully narrated story of a short time in the life of 14-year-old Beka Lamb. Through flashbacks, points on politics and independence are animated, since the political struggles for independence in Belize reflect Beka’s own developing maturity and need to assert herself. Two main features of this heartwarming story are Beka’s penchant for lying and her relationship with her older friend Troycie, whose troubling choices lead her down a self-destructive path. The pride of winning an essay contest at... continue
Genre
Recommended: 20 Feb 2022


BEST BOOKS FROM NORTH AMERICA BY GENRE

Adult Adventure Biography Crime Cultural Economics Essay Fantasy Folklore Historical Historical fiction Horror Humor Memoir Mystery Personal Finance Political Romance Science fiction Self-help Short story Textbook Thriller Travel

Copyright BoocShare - All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Manifesto