Crime genre books (116)


1.

A Burning by Megha Majumdar EN

0 Ratings
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train bec... continue

2.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Description:
In a future where criminals rule the night, Alex, a vicious fifteen-year-old droog, is "redeemed" by the state.

3.

A Perfect Grave by Rick Mofina EN

0 Ratings
Description:
When Sister Anne McGrath, a much-loved community saint, is brutally murdered, Seattle Mirror reporter Jason Wade, who has a personal interest in the case, joins the investigation and makes a shocking discovery about Sister Anne's past that changes everything. Original.

4.

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle EN

Rating: 4     2 Votes
Description:
The first of the Sherlock Holmes' adventures, this book introduces the great sleuth and explains how Dr. Watson and Holmes come to share rooms together and solve mysteries together.

5.

Addis Ababa Noir by ed. Maaza Mengiste EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Ethiopia flag Ethiopia
Description:
Addis Ababa is a sprawling melting pot of cultures where rich and poor live side by side in relative harmony--until they don't.

6.

African Psycho : A Novel by Alain Mabanckou EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Congo flag Congo
Description:
Gregoire Nakobomayo has decided to kill his girlfriend Germaine. However, the act of murder requires a bit of psychological and logistical preparation. Luckily, he has a mentor to call on, the far more accomplished serial killer Angoualima. The fact that he is dead doesn't prevent Gregoire from talking with him.

7.

After Story by Larissa Behrendt EN

0 Ratings
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
When Indigenous lawyer Jasmine decides to take her mother Della on a tour of England's most revered literary sites, Jasmine hopes it will bring them closer together and help them reconcile the past. Twenty-five years earlier the disappearance of Jasmine's older sister devastated their tight-knit community. This tragedy returns to haunt Jasmine and Della when another child mysteriously goes missing on Hampstead Heath. As Jasmine immerses herself in the world of her literary idols - including Jane Austen, the Brontë sisters and Virginia Woolf - Della is inspired to rediscover the wisdom of her o... continue

8.

Airman by Eoin Colfer EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Ireland flag Ireland
Description:
Conor Broekhart was born to fly. Or more accurately, he was born flying. Little wonder he became what he became. In an age of discovery and invention, many dreamed of flying, but for Conor flight was more than just a dream, it was his destiny. In one dark night on the island of Great Saltee, a cruel and cunning betrayal destroyed his life and stole his future. Now Conor must win the race for flight, to save his family and right a terrible wrong...

9.

All My Goodbyes by Mariana Dimopulos EN

0 Ratings
Description:
This highly acclaimed contemporary Argentinian novel is the first in Giramondo’s Literature of the South series, featuring innovative fiction and non-fiction by writers of the southern hemisphere. It is translated from the Spanish by Australian translator Alice Whitmore. All My Goodbyes is a novel told in overlapping vignettes, which follow the travels of a young Argentinian woman across Europe (Málaga, Madrid, Heidelberg, Berlin) and back to Argentina (Buenos Aires, Patagonia) as she flees from situation to situation, job to job, and relationship to relationship. Within the complexity of the ... continue

10.
Allmen and the Dragonflies

Allmen and the Dragonflies by Martin Suter EN

Rating: 5     2 Votes
Country: Europe / Switzerland flag Switzerland
Description:
A thrilling--and quite funny--art heist escapade that evokes a world of European high culture and luxury, while providing a glimpse of some of the shadowy characters who people the dark underbelly of the art and antique markets.