Crime genre books (190)


1.

A Brief History of Seven Killings : WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2015 by Marlon James EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
JAMAICA, 1976 Seven gunmen storm Bob Marley’s house, machine guns blazing. The reggae superstar survives, but the gunmen are never caught. From the acclaimed author of The Book of Night Women comes a dazzling display of masterful storytelling exploring this near-mythic event. Spanning three decades and crossing continents, A Brief History of Seven Killings chronicles the lives of a host of unforgettable characters – slum kids, one-night stands, drug lords, girlfriends, gunmen, journalists, and even the CIA. Gripping and inventive, ambitious and mesmerising, A Brief History of Seven Killings is... continue

2.

A Burning by Megha Majumdar EN

Rating: 1 (1 vote)
Country: Asia / India flag India
Description:
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train bec... continue

3.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
In a future where criminals rule the night, Alex, a vicious fifteen-year-old droog, is "redeemed" by the state.

4.

A Death in Malta : An assassination and a family’s quest for justice by Paul Caruana Galizia EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Malta flag Malta
Description:
When Paul Caruana Galizia was at work in London, his eldest brother called to say their mother Daphne had just been assassinated. That day, he returned to their native Malta and, with his two brothers and their father, began a quest to discover who was responsible for Daphne's murder and who stood to profit from ending the life of a journalist whose courage and determination threatened the powerful with the truth. Two years later, they did. A Death in Malta is more than an investigation into the life and assassination of Daphne by her son Paul. It's an examination of the globalisation of corru... continue

5.

A Perfect Grave by Rick Mofina EN

0 Ratings
Description:
When Sister Anne McGrath, a much-loved community saint, is brutally murdered, Seattle Mirror reporter Jason Wade, who has a personal interest in the case, joins the investigation and makes a shocking discovery about Sister Anne's past that changes everything. Original.

6.

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle EN

Rating: 4 (3 votes)
Description:
The first of the Sherlock Holmes' adventures, this book introduces the great sleuth and explains how Dr. Watson and Holmes come to share rooms together and solve mysteries together.

7.

Abduction by Anouar Benmalek EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Algeria flag Algeria
Description:
Drawn together by the tortured memory of a massacre years ago, a shared experience binds Mathieu, Tahar and Aziz, and has repercussions for Meriem and Chehra, Aziz's wife and daughter. Chehra is abducted, and the kidnapper's brutal demands and threats of violent torture turn this into a tense thriller. But how far will Aziz go to save his family?

8.

Accidental Death of an Anarchist by Dario Fo EN

Rating: 4 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Italy flag Italy
Description:
In its first two years of production in Italy, Accidental Death of an Anarchist was seen by over half a million people. The play concerns the case of an anarchist railway worker who, in 1969, 'fell' to his death from a police headquarters window.

9.

Addis Ababa Noir by ed. Maaza Mengiste EN

0 Ratings
Country: Africa / Ethiopia flag Ethiopia
Description:
Addis Ababa is a sprawling melting pot of cultures where rich and poor live side by side in relative harmony--until they don't.