Thriller genre books (252)


61.

HUGE by Brent Butt EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
In comedy, killing is a good thing. From the award-winning screenwriter and International Emmy nominee comes this unexpectedly dark and twisted thriller. It's 1994, and three stand-up comedians have embarked on a tour of smaller communities across a remote stretch of rural Canadian countryside. Dale is a 40-something comic from Chicago who's on the back half of a mediocre career and thinking about quitting the business. Rynn is a 20-something fast-rising comedy star from Dublin with a big break into TV on her horizon. And who is this third guy, the hulking young man added to the bill at the la... continue

62.

Hunde von Riga : Thriller by Henning Mankell DE

Rating: 3 (1 vote)
Country: Europe / Sweden flag Sweden
Description:
Die Ermordung eines lettischen Kollegen führt Kommissar Wallander nach Riga. Dort gerät er in den Strudel des Kampfes zwischen Patriotismus, Besatzungsmacht und organisiertem Verbrechen.

63.

I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak EN

Rating: 4 (2 votes)
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
From the author of The Book Thief comes this darkly funny and ultimately uplifting thriller which proves that anyone can be extraordinary. Ed Kennedy is just your less-than-average Joe who is hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey. But after he single-handedly manages to catch a bank robber, he receives a playing card in the mail: the Ace of Diamonds. This is the first message. Four more will follow. But before this particular card game can end, Ed will be changed forever . . . Will Audrey love the man he has become?

64.

I Have Some Questions for You : A Novel by Rebecca Makkai EN

0 Ratings
Description:
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER “A twisty, immersive whodunit perfect for fans of Donna Tartt’s The Secret History.” —People "Spellbinding." —The New York Times Book Review "[An] irresistible literary page-turner." —The Boston Globe Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2023 by TIME, NPR, USA Today, Elle, Newsweek, Salon, Bustle, AARP, The Millions, Good Housekeeping, and more The riveting new novel — "part true-crime page-turner, part campus coming-of-age" (San Francisco Chronicle) — from the author of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award finalist The Great Believers A successful film professor ... continue

65.

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh EN

Rating: 5 (1 vote)
Description:
At the scene of a tragic accident, life changes immediately for everyone involved. Finding it impossible to stay in Bristol, Jenna Gray moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast. She is desperate to escape the past, but is haunted by the accident, by the loss of her son, and by her own fears. DI Ray Stevens is determined to get to the bottom of this case. The investigation takes him away from his family and he finds himself growing closer to Kate Evans, a young and forthright detective on his team. But Jenna's past is about to catch up with her, with devastating consequences

66.

I'm Thinking of Ending Things : A Novel by Iain Reid EN

Rating: 4 (4 votes)
Description:
Includes Reader's Guide with discussion questions.

67.

If We Were Villains by M. L. Rio EN

Rating: 5 (7 votes)
Description:
If We Were Villains is a smart, upmarket literary page-turner in the tradition of The Secret History Oliver Marks has just served ten years for the murder of one of his closest friends - a murder he may or may not have committed. On the day he's released, he's greeted by the detective who put him in prison. Detective Colborne is retiring, but before he does, he wants to know what really happened ten years ago. As a young actor studying Shakespeare at an elite arts conservatory, Oliver noticed that his talented classmates seem to play the same roles onstage and off - villain, hero, tyrant, temp... continue

68.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff EN

Rating: 4 (12 votes)
Country: Oceania / Australia flag Australia
Description:
For fans of Marie Lu comes the first book in an epic series that bends the sci-fi genre into a new dimension. “A truly beautiful novel that redefines the form." —Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of Red Queen This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than a speck at the edge of the universe. Now with enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to evacuate wit... continue

69.

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote EN

Rating: 5 (5 votes)
Description:
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • The most famous true crime novel of all time "chills the blood and exercises the intelligence" (The New York Review of Books)—and haunted its author long after he finished writing it. On November 15, 1959, in the small town of Holcomb, Kansas, four members of the Clutter family were savagely murdered by blasts from a shotgun held a few inches from their faces. There was no apparent motive for the crime, and there were almost no clues. In one of the first non-fiction novels ever written, Truman Capote reconstructs the murder and the investigation that led to the capture, t... continue

70.

In the Heat of the Moment by Viveca Sten EN

0 Ratings
Country: Europe / Sweden flag Sweden
Description:
What's a lie among friends? It's murder--in this riveting thriller by Viveca Sten, bestselling author of Tonight You're Dead... It's Midsummer's Eve, the celebration of the longest day of the year, and on Sandhamn it's the longest party of the year. But the fun comes to a dead halt when a young reveler is murdered, a teenage girl is found drugged and dazed on the beach, and other young women vanish. So far, what links the victims is a mystery. For Nora Linde and her new boyfriend, Jonas Sköld, the crimes are personal: one of the missing girls is Wilma, Jonas's daughter. And her disappearance c... continue